Chicago Public Schools "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools CEO Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great People to work with and good benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "Good pay based on experience - better than some suburban districts(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Principals are typically insane people who cannot be trusted(in 30 reviews)

  • "Many of the central office employees spend the entire work day watching Youtube videos while on 60K(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - SECA in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really good benefits, paid holidays, off work during the same holidays or breaks as your children if they attend Chicago Public Schools.

    Cons

    You don’t get paid over the summer break

    Chicago Public Schools2019-09-11
  2. "Run far far away from here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People to work with and good benefits

    Cons

    Terrible management, understaffed, unappreciative, overworked

    Advice to Management

    Hire more caring people

    Chicago Public Schools2019-08-21
  3. "CPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for family and good hours

    Cons

    Bad raises and difficult daily schedule with sometimes no breaks

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-24
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and depending on the school, very stable. Good opportunities to learn outside of the classroom.

    Cons

    Not a great deal of leadership opportunities in the building, so you've got to be creative to gain new experiences.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-06-03
  5. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Buyer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Located downtown, good benefits, good salary. Great work/life balance, your not expected to work too late.

    Cons

    Its very difficult to make changes and there is so much turnover.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-04-03
  6. "Depends on your school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Security 

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Secure job with good benefits

    Cons

    September to June. You might not have work during the summer.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-04-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Pay, Decent job if certain things don't bother you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher, Secondary School in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, great team I'm working w/, great admin, supportive staff, overall.

    Cons

    Toleration of behaviors that no one should allow. IE. defiance, disrespect, constant use of profanity, students have to constantly be reminded to stay on task and do work. They grow angry when you tell them to abide by simple rules/norms.

    Advice to Management

    Place accountability on circumstance, parents, and students. This is what I feel is missing now, in general in education.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-02-15
  8. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and time off

    Cons

    Lack of support and poor management

    Chicago Public Schools2018-12-16
  9. "Lunch room manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Get all holidays off and they have good benefits

    Cons

    Poor work environment no breaks no lunch no raises

    Advice to Management

    We need new management

    Chicago Public Schools2018-11-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and training. Good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours and alot of micro management. Not appreciated

    Chicago Public Schools2018-05-19
Found 30 reviews