Chicago Public Schools "principals" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Employee Reviews about "principals"

Updated Jan 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools CEO Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great People to work with and good benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "Good pay based on experience - better than some suburban districts(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Principals are typically insane people who cannot be trusted(in 30 reviews)

  • "Many of the central office employees spend the entire work day watching Youtube videos while on 60K(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "principals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Public school teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Music Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Solid employment. Wonderful community of professionals and development. Excellent benefits. Security once tenured. Holiday vacations. Decent work-life balance once you get the hang of it.

    Cons

    Mayor appointed board of education. Principals are typically insane people who cannot be trusted. Constant turnover of staff and leadership. Underfunded and underresourced. It can be a struggle to survive the first 2-5 years.

    Advice to Management

    Fight back against standardized testing. It has poisoned the well. Do the best you can to support and retain talented teachers.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-01-30
  2. "Decent pay compared to other cities and states"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Continuing Education, Benefits, Salary, and Union

    Cons

    Some principals are dishonest and unfair.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of corrupt principals

    Chicago Public Schools2018-03-22
  3. "Art Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Kids really need the arts.

    Cons

    Not all principals respect or understand the value of the arts.

    Advice to Management

    Principals would be well advised to listen to their teachers and respect their expertise.

    Chicago Public Schools2017-09-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can possibly work every day

    Cons

    Many Principals and Clerks are disrespectful. Constantly changing assignments, even if the Teacher specifically requested you!

    Advice to Management

    The Sub takes the time to go on AESOP to accept an assignment. However, the School's Administrative Staff, Principals down to Clerks constantly changes a Sub assignment. I'm told that they have the right to do this, however, the Union says that their violating our contractual rights. Of course the Union can't and doesn't support Substitute Teachers! Finally, the CPS Substitute Teacher hasn't had a raise in over... 20 years!

    Show More
    Chicago Public Schools2017-09-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Elementary Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many jobs to choose from and many schools need a full time K-9 teacher.

    Cons

    Too much chaos in the school and union. Lots of negativity from principals, and other staff.

    Advice to Management

    Schools are run like little principalities. Communicate with the employees more and be confident, encouraging and respectful to the teachers.

    Chicago Public Schools2017-07-09
  6. "Regular Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Chicago Teachers Union will protect you from administration that treats you poorly

    Cons

    There are crazy principals out there who treat you with no respect and make your life as a teacher miserable.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-10-19
  7. "Education not a priority in Chicago and Illinois"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The appreciation showed by students and parents. I also enjoy my relationships with my colleagues. The opportunity to assist students and help them grow.

    Cons

    CPS is top heavy with administrators. The system does not respect school principals or teachers. The company is purging veteran teachers because salaries are expensive. This is accomplished through poor evaluations that lead to being laid off. This is also not a stable place for new teachers. At the beginning of each school year enrollment changes lead to positions closing and layoffs. Teachers scramble to find... new positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to work with CTU. Provide stability for teachers and students. Get rid of school based budgeting. Stop trying to cut special education.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-09-01
  8. "deserves zero stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    salary and benefits; annual raises

    Cons

    Unreasonable and hostile principals who bully their employees. They are dishonest on evaluations. They pick favorites. Dirty politics. Very toxic hostile work environment. People with health problems usually end up getting sicker and healthy teachers usually end up having health problems due to severe stress. Teachers often found in their rooms or bathrooms crying. Teachers often taking medical leaves because of the... stress. Lack of support from Principals. If i could give this place zero stars, i would. The mayor is always closing down the schools and laying off teachers...lack of job stability. Zero work/Life balance. Principals will text you at 6pm while you are eating dinner and demand that you have something done by 7pm. If you don't see your phone and don't respond, you will be reprimanded when you get to work the next day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying your employees! Make them feel valued and they will be able to perform at their highest potential. Teachers need support!

    Chicago Public Schools2016-08-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Reality Check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to be involved with children and help in developing their mindsets. Student growth and successes are there and possible to achieve.

    Cons

    The Board is top heavy and unfairly distributes funding. Most principals, who feel like puppets, are under extreme pressure which always trickles down through the ranks, and unfortunately impacts the children. So... it sucks.

    Advice to Management

    Principals join your teachers and stand your ground. CPS, Central Office, Area Officers, and all who are connected... you better recognize! You're in this for the kids. ACT like it... But most of you cringe at the very thought of actually working with our kids. Go figure.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-05-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "THE WORST - Union doesn't help much either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid more than private or charter, but honestly, it's not even worth it. If you work on the north side, you'll probably be fine, but the south side is not only dangerous, it lacks support and funding.

    Cons

    - Horrible principals who gossip behind your back and cause drama - Teachers who think they're still in high school and also like to cause drama - Union that is unresponsive/doesn't file your grievances in a timely manner - ABSOLUTELY NO WORK/LIFE BALANCE. I was working 12+ hour days, only to come home and work for another 3+ hours and I STILL wasn't doing things good enough. - Oh also, they can move you... whenever they want. Within 6 months, I moved from 2nd to 2nd/3rd split (no experience with either) to 1st grade with no advance notice. - You don't even teach. You weed through the bureaucracy and hope to keep your head above water.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Seriously. This district is a joke. CPS Is causing good teachers to turn their backs on teaching. Kids are slipping through the cracks.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-04-26
Found 30 reviews