Chicago Zoological Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Zoological Society Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Zoological Society CEO Stuart D Strahl (no image)
Stuart D Strahl
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The people who actually go to the zoo suck and treat you horribly(in 6 reviews)

  • "Virtually no room for advancement(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Park Safety Officer in Brookfield, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Zoological Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are a great company with flexibility for school schedules, there are many opportunities for various positions open yearly.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice they have all been very friendly and helpful.

    Chicago Zoological Society2019-08-30
  2. "Beautiful facility that will need updating soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Chicago Zoological Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefit package-really offer a lot for employees

    Cons

    employees often have to take on additional roles of other employees

    Chicago Zoological Society2019-05-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Craftsman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Zoological Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers Excellent pto time

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't seem to care about anything but there bonus checks Working weekends and holidays

    Chicago Zoological Society2019-03-12
  5. "Pretty decent overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Clerk in Berwyn, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Zoological Society part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun people to work with, and is fairly laid back both in terms of management and duties Easy job in general, 90% of it consists of manning the cash wrap and making sure guests are helped. The workday is pretty decent as well, typical day is 10-6 or 9-5.

    Cons

    Guests and kids especially can be horrible, but in only rare cases No room for advancement Very limited Hours during the off-season, could go up to two weeks without getting scheduled, during the season you won't get scheduled more than 30 hours typically. If you are in the gift shops and are new you will be put outside to man the cart kiosks during hot summers and freezing winters, which really sucks Can be... very boring

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to be more equitable in who gets put outside, be aware of safety concerns on really hot days.

    Chicago Zoological Society2019-02-09
  6. "Hit and Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Brookfield, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Zoological Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Direct management is amazing and the education department pays very well

    Cons

    Higher management is bad. They are not in touch with the modern era at all (i.e. horrible media presence).

    Chicago Zoological Society2018-12-10
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Zoological Society full-time

    Pros

    I love the people I work with. They are all very talented and professional. The zoo does a lot of great things for its staff, the benefits are very good, and you get to be around the animals every day!

    Cons

    For me, it is a long commute, but I've been doing it a long time, and don't mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and focus on the staff, the mission, the animals, and the workplace!

    Chicago Zoological Society2018-10-04
  8. "Guest Services (Seasonal)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Zoological Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great money. Positive work environment. Friendly staff

    Cons

    Seasonal. Hours become shorter after the summer, laid off for 2 months

    Advice to Management

    More hours

    Chicago Zoological Society2018-09-08
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Brookfield, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Zoological Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free tickets to the zoo

    Cons

    Upper management does not have a real sense of what is happening in the zoo and with employees. My direct supervisor was only worried about having lunch and going home on time. He provided no help to his staff. The union runs the zoo and management/Human Resources will not address performance issues.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff in regards to needed changes. Fire staff that aren’t performing. Get more animals.

    Chicago Zoological Society2018-07-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Food service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Zoological Society part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and fun summer job

    Cons

    As far as first jobs go, it was good.

    Chicago Zoological Society2018-06-01
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Camp counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Zoological Society

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Office politics made work difficult

    Advice to Management

    No comment I enjoyed working here

    Chicago Zoological Society2018-05-30
Found 59 reviews