Chicagoland Smile Group Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
68%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice place to work

    Feb 5, 2021 - Dental Hygienist in Orland Park, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice management and nice work environment

    Cons

    Sometimes it can get real busy !

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    High turnover failing business

    Mar 2, 2020 - Revenue Cycle Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Well there's a coffee and water machine.

    Cons

    -Extremely high turnover rate. No one's been with the company for more than a few years. In a few months I watched an alarming amount (12 individuals) of upper management leave or get fired abruptly. -The benefits are appalling no 401k matching, overpriced healthcare, five whole days PTO a year, no pay for maternity leave. They do not care about their employee retention at all. -They rapidly acquire dental offices without any concern for delivering the promised results to their physicians or patients. Multiple providers shared with me their upset about the massive looming AR. Some dentists confided in me and asked if I thought based on the contracting they have a chance at collecting when they depart soon. -The looming AR is enormous yet two people are employed to help follow up on it currently. -The culture is very toxic! HR actively invalidated multiple employee experiences presented to them. There's a clique in support center management who breadcrumb essential information so standard operating procedures can't be created. Anyone new they do not accept they spend everyday deforming the person's character by copying the whole upper management team on any mistake made despite the fact they were in charge of training. -Everyday you come in wondering what stupid new idea upper management will deploy to justify their own presence in the failing company. -The investment partners are heavily involved in the failing business and what they say goes at the end of the day. -No promotion from within ever happens.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun, dynamic place to grow

    Aug 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Motivated team (from leadership to staff) who work hard to take care of our patients. Good hours, friendly co-workers, and lots of opportunity to grow professionally.

    Cons

    COVID has forced the business to make a bunch changes which has required the team to be dynamic. Looking forward to some more stability.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Trying to Fail

    May 28, 2020 - Office Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Camaraderie with other team members

    Cons

    This is a relatively new DSO which focuses on buying smaller private practices and managing them from a central corporate office. They established a "support center" which is supposed to handle all of the administrative duties, leaving the clinical staff at each office free to focus on patient care. Unfortunately, most of the staff hired for the support center have little to no dental experience, so every minor decision is painfully and unnecessarily complicated. Staff turnover is extremely high as no one can tolerate the toxic environment for very long, so it is a constant learning experience as new people are brought in. The private offices which are bought out by Chicagoland Smile Group typically have very experienced and caring doctors and staff. The DSO could use this wealth of accumulated knowledge to grow the company into something amazing. However, they choose to ignore this most valuable asset, and constantly attempt to reinvent the wheel. The top-heavy management team spends their days on group calls and emails, creating spreadsheets and power point presentations that have no value to anyone but themselves. Meanwhile, the teams in each office who are in the trenches every day trying to provide quality care for their patients are understaffed and overworked, their opinions and contributions ignored. During the 2020 pandemic and shutdown, the DSO permanently laid off many employees as a "tough financial decision" to keep the company solvent. So offices are more short-staffed than before. However, at the same time they were actively advertising that they were looking to buy up any privately owned practices which may be struggling, and that they had the capital to do so, thanks to careful stewardship. The priorities are crystal clear, and they have nothing to do with patient care or employee retention. I do not see how this DSO will be able to sustain long-term with the current management.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    All about money

    Aug 18, 2019 - Dental Hygienist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible days and hours since there are many locations.

    Cons

    They care about production way more than actual patient care. Be prepared to take an excessive amount of xrays and push treatment plans.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible Management

    Sep 16, 2018 - Patient Care Coordinator in Palos Heights, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NO PROS WITH THIS COMPANY.

    Cons

    I worked here for approx. a month and i was let go because "I did homework on the job", no two weeks notice, no write up, nothing.. just let go in the middle of my shift. The manager knew I was a student before hiring me and said that won't be a problem. When I was offered the job the hiring manager even mentioned "I was one of the best interviews they've ever had". I began working and the manager at my location (College Drive Dental Associates in Palos Heights, IL) would tell me all her personal problems at home (which is very unprofessional), she would log on to the company's computer and show me pictures of her ex husband on facebook, she would be on her phone texting her boyfriend all the time. The Manager just sits in the back on her phone all day on snapchat or facebook. This company goes through employees like water, within my one month working here over 3 employees left and the overall organization of the clinic is just terrible. Patients call complaining all the time, asking for their records to move to other locations. The employees argue EVERY single day even in front of patients, literally screaming back & forth. One of the dentist was told to "learn how to speak English" because she was a woman of color from a different country. There's been times when some employees would not show up to their shifts, and would not get penalized. The manager even sent her boyfriend in to act like a patient in order to spy on the employees so she can weed out who needs to be fired. A complete disregard to privacy! There was even an instance when she would have other employees spy on me to make sure I wasn't doing my homework during downtime. This place is terrible, racist and overall unorganized. Save yourself the drama and never accept a job offer here.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I have been a full time employee with Chicagoland Smile Group for over a year.

    Mar 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having been in private practice for over 35 years, the idea of working for a DSO was exciting yet intimidating. With Chicagoland Smile Group, I have found that the support and camaraderie within the organization has been truly valuable to me. In my 35 + years experience in the dental field I have been exposed to just about everything you could expect, but there is always something new to learn, and Chicagoland Smile Group has been a great teacher. The support system that Chicagoland Smile group has in place has made it easy for me to fulfill my responsibilities, and has also allowed me and my team to focus on what's most important, patient care.

    Cons

    As with any new company, there will be growing pains, and adding necessary employees needs to be a priority at this point. Information is sometimes slow to trickle down, but that is a work in process.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place for growth.

    Mar 15, 2018 - Administrative in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very growth-oriented culture with clearly-outlined goals and objectives for the entire organization. Leadership is truly focused on enabling clinicians to provide excellent patient care. Atmosphere of learning & development.

    Cons

    We're all learning as we go, which can be frustrating at times...but everyone is in it together.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Employment with Great Opportunity

    Apr 12, 2018 - Office Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This group is constantly working to be the best company that they can be. Constantly growing, hiring, and innovating ways to give the best patient care. This company truly cares about being the best they can for their employees and their patients.

    Cons

    As we grow, communication between higher and lower management becomes more difficult. However, they take feedback well and are having weekly and monthly meetings to improve.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good comapny

    Mar 20, 2018 - Dental Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CSG is a positive upgrade from previous dental offices I have been employed. What I like about csg: Friendly/knowledgeable/helpful staff (da's, hygienist, front desk) Benefits Generous/kind owner Understanding manager Variety of procedures/cases

    Cons

    Constant changes (some positive/some negative) Lunch break not always guaranteed No employee evaluation in place No advancement opprtunities No further extended education for dental assistants

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Chicagoland Smile Group Job Seekers

Office Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Chicagoland Smile Group? Share Your Experiences

Chicagoland Smile Group logo
or