Chick-fil-A "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chick-fil-A Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Counter Team Member in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chick-fil-A full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, free food, and busy

    Cons

    management doesn't carry out procedures given to new employees and expects a lot, in my opinion

    Advice to Management

    take it easer on new employees

    Chick-fil-A2019-08-25
  2. "Decent Working Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chick-fil-A full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We got free food and it was a very fun environment.

    Cons

    The managers will trip over every little thing. One manager wrote up the employees for smiling too much

    Advice to Management

    Ease up in employees

    Chick-fil-A2019-07-16
  3. "Okay Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Order Taker/Trainer in Brandon, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chick-fil-A part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food if we meet sales goal Customer bonds that form Super invovled in the community and our partners

    Cons

    Low pay Too much favortism Regular emloyees have to work 8 hours or more to even be considered for a 30 minute break They never kept their word on promotions or raises Leaders verbally abused employees Leaders never really stuck around and did their job, they would either all gather at a table and talk and laugh about stuff on social media or in their lives or wander to the back office and play on their phones

    Advice to Management

    When an employee comes to you with questions and concerns and is trying to get your attention on a matter, actually stop what your doing shut your mouth and just listen, dont cut them off and say i will look into it cuz you will either forget or barely investigate at all. If we come to you on behalf of the greater good for ourselves and others we are obviously needing you to assess a situation, but your lack of interest and concern and telling us that you dont believe us because none of those people would do things like that, well that right there is how you are going to lose good people.

    Show More
    Chick-fil-A2019-07-27
  4. "I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Team Member in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chick-fil-A part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • free food • nice co-employees • overall an “easy” job once you get the hang of it • they’re flexible and work around your hours

    Cons

    • gets boring •pay isn’t that good • some managers can be mean but it varies at each store

    Chick-fil-A2019-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Mishawaka, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chick-fil-A part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, free uniform and training, fun coworkers

    Cons

    HORRIFIC management, inflexible scheduling, and lots of drama and inadequate hours

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like cattle. We are people too and don't deserved to get walked all over and abused by guests just because they are paying.

    Chick-fil-A2019-07-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "They didn't like my priorities and they chose favorites even when you were promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chick-fil-A part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-Workers (Like Family) Good Managers Easy Free Food Flexible Scheduling

    Cons

    Suck up to move up Didn't like my priorities as a High School Student (Student and Athlete first, Work second) Stress during Rush Hours Didn't give equal opportunities Takes advantage if High School Students

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to others who deserve it, and realize we're all human and have other priorities as High School students unless we chose to stay here forever.

    Chick-fil-A2019-07-10
  7. "Working at CFA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chick-fil-A full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, charisma, personality, customer service.

    Cons

    Pay, hours, holiday, time off

    Chick-fil-A2019-06-26
  8. "Great environment but terrible management and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chick-fil-A part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -very friendly, loyal customers -supportive coworkers -free food during shift

    Cons

    -standing outside in the heat to take orders on 95 degree or higher days; employees with more fair complexions would frequently burn, as sunscreen is not made readily available -because a lot of their employment comes from younger-aged individuals, they often are taken advantage of and not paid enough, depending on the franchise owner (I've worked at 3 locations - all were lacking with pay) -promote people on actual merit, not just based on their relationships with the franchise owner/upper management; there is a lot of favoritism

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -pay team members at least $10/hour minimum, which is completely reasonable for all of the second mile service they do everyday - don't overlook these people -give employees taking orders outside more resources, like water bottles, sunscreen, and shade extending the entire drive thru area, not just the first 20 feet

    Chick-fil-A2019-07-09
  9. "A good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Team Member 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chick-fil-A part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food allowance. Flexible Hours. Good quality food.

    Cons

    Management could either decent or horrible. Kitchen was often hot and you went home filthy at the end of the shift.

    Chick-fil-A2019-06-25
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Trainer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chick-fil-A part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Free Food, Fun Team

    Cons

    High Stress, Fast Paced

    Chick-fil-A2019-06-17
Found 334 reviews