Cover image for Chico's FAS
Logo
See All Photos

Chico's FAS

Engaged Employer

Chico's FAS

Add a Review

Chico's FAS Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 14, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,998 of over 2K reviews
3.5
60% Recommend to a Friend
Chico's FAS President and CEO Molly Langenstein
72% Approve of CEO

Found 134 of over 2K reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Chico's FAS President and CEO Molly Langenstein
Molly Langenstein
196 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Chico's FAS and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
134
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    The best out there in retail!

    Jun 20, 2013 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have had great mentors as DM's since moving to the outlet division!! Very willing to invest in me for my future growth with the company . Does not micromanage which is very important to me. Utilizes my strengths and challenges me in my opportunity areas. Company believes in our values and work life balance.

    Cons

    I understand that retail is soft right now. But, there are too many promotional changes, sometimes on a daily basis which is way too time consuming. It takes us away from really being able to help the customer that is in the store. Payroll has been cut too much! If the tasking time outweighs the selling time, then add more payroll back. Lastly, the pay is way too low for the expectations.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    DISAPPOINTING

    Feb 19, 2014 - Assistant Store Manager in Michigan City, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome customers that have been shopping for years. Easy to establish a rapport and relationship with them. Developed a great lasting relationship with sales associates.

    Cons

    IT Department terrible. Sales change entirely too much and at random times during the day that leaves everyone scrambling to change signs. Poor discount given for employees. No rewards for hardworking employees. Impossible to have home and work life balance. Unrealistic sales goals and nearly impossible to make bonus. Company rewards the Store Manager for everything and completely disregards the assistant store manager, leads, and sales associates for all their hard work.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Chico's FAS team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    store manager

    Oct 4, 2015 - Store Manager in Tobyhanna, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good pay, and plenty of over time opportunity.

    Cons

    As a store manager you can expect to work many iron shifts and have a bad work/life balance. you also work all major holidays and weekends and you have an ever changing staff.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Know Before You Go

    Dec 31, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership cares about its people. From the CEO on down it is a warm and supportive environment. We have Summer Fridays, extra days off as a “reward” and there is a sense of camaraderie between co-workers. There are also perks like gym, on-site clinic, company store, delicious cafeteria and you can’t beat Florida living!

    Cons

    There has been a lot of leadership changes in recent years. Because of that, the company hasn’t found its footing and doesn’t have a clear vision for who it wants to be. This leads to a lack of direction and decision-making between the new and old guard – creating confusion and re-work. The workload is overwhelming and work/life balance non-existent. At our current pace, I expect there’s at least another 2 years of this.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Chico's FAS Response

    Associate Relations Manager

    Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you feel a strong connection with your co-workers and enjoy the multiple perks of working at our Southwest Florida campus. We do acknowledge that there have been leadership changes over the last year. We regret this has resulted in Associates feeling like there is a lack of direction and causing rework. We will share your feedback with the business leaders for further consideration. If you have suggestions that may help, please reach out to your business leaders, HR Manager or reach us directly at GlassdoorFeedback@chicos.com.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company

    Sep 14, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to challenge yourself

    Cons

    Work life balance especially when your working at store level

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Chico's FAS Response

    Director, HR Compliance & Associate Relations

    Thanks for the 5 star review. We are so glad that you enjoy working at Chico's FAS. Thanks for all the great work you do. At Chico's FAS we encourage our Associates to have a healthy work-life balance. All Associates need time off to relax and recharge. We recommend that you speak with your store and district leadership if you have concerns about taking time off. Thanks again for all you do!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    great company

    Dec 18, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product for the price nice discount

    Cons

    work life balance based on business and not life

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Chicos

    Oct 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chicos is a excellent company a lot of room for growth. I would highly recommend working here.

    Cons

    I would say a con is because I worked at a retail level the work to home life balance was not great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fabric assistant

    Feb 24, 2016 - Product Development In Accessories 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lenient time off Great location for relaxed lifestyle and sun

    Cons

    Work life balance is lacking people work about 4 more hours daily than in nyc offices

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Culture

    May 23, 2021 - District Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere where peers feel like family, constantly building each other up and supporting each other when and where needed. Store teams are tougher than ever and pushing for our customers. This teamwork culture is amazing!!

    Cons

    Work life balance is a struggle coming out of COVID with increased workload—almost triple the responsibility without the compensation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Chico's FAS Response

    Director, HR Compliance & Associate Relations

    Thank you so much for the 5 -star review. We are glad to hear that our teams support each other and the Company so well! At Chico's FAS teamwork is an important part of our culture and directly related to our success. We also appreciate all of our Associates' hard work, especially through the COVID-19 pandemic. We recognize that our Associates' workloads changed as we faced the challenges of an unforeseen pandemic. As we now return to normalcy we stress the importance of work-life balance and want our Associates to refresh, relax and enjoy time with family and friends. If you would like to provide additional feedback please feel free to email us at glassdoorfeedback@chicos.com or reach out to your HR Business Partner. We would love to hear your ideas!

  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to learn about business

    Mar 1, 2023 - Assistant Store Manager in Monterey, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This can be a great place to learn about business and how to sell. They will teach you. The pay is okay as a manager but you can definitely make up for it with the bonus system.

    Cons

    Managers are expected to have an open schedule so work life balance can be a problem. There is a lot of macro management from upper management so it really depends on who your manager is. I was fortunate and I had great managers. The dress code although it allows you to really dress up there is a lot of pressure to adhere to it. The pressure to perform as a salesman is pretty intense

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Chico's FAS Response

    Director, HR Compliance and Associate Relations

    Thanks for the 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed working at Chico's FAS.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 134 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Chico's FAS Job Seekers