Chief Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Chief Industries Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dave Ostdiek
9 Ratings
  1. "Get what you put in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Grand Island, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chief Industries full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    If you work hard, and have a great attitude, you can move up quickly. Plenty of room for growth.

    Cons

    I wish I would get more high 5's around the office.

    Advice to Management

    Be understanding of the sacrifices the employees make to make sure deadlines are met. More high 5's

    Chief Industries2018-08-06
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager 

    I worked at Chief Industries full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Design build negotiated pre engineered buildings

    Cons

    Not team oriented, top heavy upper management

    Chief Industries2019-03-22
  3. "Great starting career spot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Technician in Grand Island, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chief Industries for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great working environment and willing to help you learn.

    Cons

    Low industry pay and can be hard to move vertically.

    Advice to Management

    Start implementing new systems and encouraging self-study (Certs).

    Chief Industries2019-01-22
  4. "Excellent place to work where you feel like you are a part of the family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chief Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Projects where you can make a difference, Good Work Life Balance, Great people.

    Cons

    Things can move slower in a Manufacturing business than some others, so introducing change (while accepted and rewarded) will take time to achieve.

    Advice to Management

    Reward those who consistently change things for the better, even if they are not always the top performers in terms of output or immediate results. You may have to dig deeper to understand the scope of what they have changed and who they have impacted, but it is worth it.

    Chief Industries2018-11-15
  5. "Male Centric; Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chief Industries full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Diversified operation with room to grow.

    Cons

    Few women and minority groups in management. Very little diversification in management. Not all who work hard are adequately recognized or compensated.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate and eliminate the “Good Ole Boy Club” mentality, and open your eyes to the vast talent in the operation.

    Chief Industries2018-08-11
  6. "71218"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Chief Industries for more than a year

      Pros

      People focused environment is a pro.

      Cons

      Salary level is less competitive.

      Chief Industries2018-07-12
    • "Grown within the company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chief Industries full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Your opinion counts. Such a diversified company with lots of room for advancement.

      Cons

      Change is hard for some long term employees

      Chief Industries2018-07-10
    • "Chief Industries"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Grand Island, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chief Industries part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great management, great staff, good pay, efficient business

      Cons

      Honestly, there weren't many.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing

      Chief Industries2018-02-08
    • "Chief Industries"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chief Industries

      Pros

      It is a very laid back environment, unless somebody wants something done right away. For the most part you can work at your own pace, but there are times that deadlines come faster than you planned.

      Cons

      *detailer position is described as something it is not. They make it sound great during the interview and make it seem like it is a fun, motivating job. After starting, it is nothing like what they describe. There is no 3D work, hardly any CAD work, about 75-80% of the work is done by hand. you are essentially a checker, not a detailer/drafter.

      Advice to Management

      Rewrite the job description and let people know exactly what they will be doing before they are hired on. Also, better pay would be nice.

      Chief Industries2016-04-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "We Engineer Relationships"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chief Industries full-time

      Pros

      Close-knit group of people, employees and customers alike. Many long-term employees and customers. Management team very reactive to customer concerns. I guess the common thread is the company's attention to customer and employee relationships. Diverse and stable company with opportunities for employees to move around and up always presenting themselves.

      Cons

      The biggest complaint I have is the inter-divisional communications. We have many complementary divisions that do not always come together in the most productive manner.

      Advice to Management

      I see a wealth of good stuff going on but there is always room for improvement . Keep the dealings, the decisions and the changes as transparent as possible.

      Chief Industries2016-04-01
    Found 13 reviews