Child and Family Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Child and Family Service Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Child and Family Service President and CEO Karen Tan (no image)
Karen Tan
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Child and Family Service

    Pros

    The organization has a great mission that all staff can get behind, " Strengthening Families and fostering the healthy development of children."

    Cons

    I am happy with the direction the organization is going in. We just got a new CEO, Karen Tan, and she is very passionate about improving things for our staff and for our participants.

    Continue reading
    Child and Family Service2017-10-20
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Secretary in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Child and Family Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful People and Outstanding Mission

    Cons

    Compensation and Benefits could be better.

    Child and Family Service2019-12-13
  3. "Nature of Non-profit work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Ewa Beach, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Child and Family Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits flexible schedule great location meaningful work that helps clients

    Cons

    turnover rate high government contracts makes job security unsteady management issues within programs

    Continue reading
    Child and Family Service2018-10-11
  4. "Work in Paradise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Child and Family Service full-time

    Pros

    Staff are kind, caring and compassionate

    Cons

    The work is fast paced and can be overwhelming. High turnover.

    Child and Family Service2018-05-01
  5. "Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Child and Family Service full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Starting point to get your feet wet.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Organization takes good care of their clients, but does less than a stellar job of taking care of their employees.

    Continue reading
    Child and Family Service2017-08-21
  6. "communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Child and Family Service full-time

    Pros

    Family like atmosphere among similar ranks

    Cons

    Rigid communication proceedures through the heirarchy

    Continue reading
    Child and Family Service2017-02-25
  7. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Case Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Child and Family Service

    Pros

    Caring co-workers that are dedicated to the mission.

    Cons

    Gerontology fell apart in 2011 due to one supervisor. The downward spiral continued in the direction until almost everyone left the program. Other programs were always short staffed, ill-prepared for the position and those who stay either have a lot of say in what happens or they desparately need a job. Raises are hung over the staff because of yearly contracts. Not much room for growth.

    Continue reading
    Child and Family Service2017-01-19
  8. "Great programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hawaii in Honolulu Landing, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Child and Family Service

    Pros

    Great people, nice atmosphere, meaningful and effective programs

    Cons

    Not up with modern times when it comes to management of employees and benefits.

    Continue reading
    Child and Family Service2017-01-16
  9. "Will suck everything you have out of you and then demean you don't have more to give"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Child and Family Service

    Pros

    You are new to island and need a job. CFS always has openings

    Cons

    Abusive as an organization; expectations are overly demanding and pay not commensurate with hours worked or responsibilities.

    Child and Family Service2016-08-15
  10. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Child and Family Service

    Pros

    Mission of the organization is awesome and have recently taken a great interest in changing the mold of a full service family center organization. With this change they have really opened the doors in getting opinions and ideas from direct service workers in all aspects from hiring, clients, benefits, and employee health both physical and mental.

    Cons

    It is a non-profit organization so of course pay is lower than the private sector.

    Child and Family Service2016-06-11
Found 22 reviews