Children’s Home Society of Florida Counselor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Counselor

Children’s Home Society of Florida Counselor Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Michael J. Shaver
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "CHS is "The BEST" Place to Work!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Counselor in Palatka, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CHS Cares for "all" children. Very Supportive!!! Encouraging!!! Dedicated!!! Excellence!!!!! We Do GOOD!!!!!

    Cons

    I have thoroughly working for CHS over the years!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Support is "key" to a GREAT Team!!!!!

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth it... save your time!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Counselor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Support staff very nice and supportive

    Cons

    -Low pay -long hours/ requires bringing home work -high stress -No room for growth -high turnover rate

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2018-04-26

    Children’s Home Society of Florida Response

    May 3, 2018Chief Talent Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're working hard to create a CHS where we can help create positive change for Florida's kids and families who need us. And we appreciate all you've done to help in that regard. Best wishes.

  3. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Counselor in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida for more than a year

    Pros

    Independence, children, families, team, technology

    Cons

    Consistency in expectations , travel reimbursement

    Advice to Management

    Mission and Vision need to practiced at the top

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2018-02-24

    Children’s Home Society of Florida Response

    February 26, 2018Chief Talent Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're committed to creating an open, transparent environment for all our team members. I see from your location that you may have been part of the recent restructuring in our Mid Florida area. As we have openly communicated ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "clinical counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Counselor in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with the children and other counselors

    Cons

    overworked with impossible number of cases and some of management with poor people skills who anger and upset the people they need and should have a team with

    Advice to Management

    Counselors are feeling people and require respect and independence. Dont need micromanagement and a ton of criticism.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-08-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Run away as far as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A paycheck, being on your own during the day, there really is nothing else I am just writing this to get 20 words in

    Cons

    Micromanagement, unappreciated work, expectations to much. Slave labor, you are treated like you owe them something and you have been withholding it from them. Not the way someone who has a post-graduate degree should be treated

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2016-12-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Clinical Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Counselor in South Florida, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My supervisor was great and you will love the kids and families that you work with. You get to take part in different trainings to increase your clinical skills. Free CEU's! Your coworkers will be extremely supportive. It's a reputable community agency.

    Cons

    Schools aren't very friendly at times. The pay is not competitive and even if you exceed your productivity consistently, you will not receive incentive pay. No resources for therapy supplies, so all therapists have to buy their own toys, etc, further reducing take-home pay. The health insurance is abysmal, both in premium cost and how much out of pocket each person has to pay. The current health insurance offered is equivalent...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop a stronger support system for clinical staff, both emotionally, and financially. Negotiate for better health insurance that exceeds the minimal value standard and meets at minimum, the silver level of health insurance offered on the marketplace. Consider alternatives to the productivity requirements so clinicians aren't penalized for taking time to complete documentation and comply with required trainings. The...

    Show More
    Children’s Home Society of Florida2016-10-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Clinical Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Counselor in Mid Florida, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work with children and families. The clients make the job worth it.

    Cons

    Organization does not practice ethical standards - Recent plan to decrease pay (change to hourly pay) and increase "required" hours (47.5) to work in order to reveive original hired salary. All of your resources to engage with children or other clients are expected to come out of clinician's pocket.

    Advice to Management

    Follow an ethical standard to both protect your employees from burnout by following the new labor laws and respect their sacrifices. Recognize the purpose of the new labor laws and be a responsible employer!!! Also, the foundation of this organization is going to crash because many employees are willing to leave due to how management is handling this situation.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2016-10-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "thought slave labor was illegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor III in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady pay Reputation in the community Diverse staff promtoes and advances from inside f

    Cons

    None of that working til the sun goes down instead sun to sun with reports etc all kinds of non reimbursed tasks no raises in years for some staff while mgmt prospers and expands

    Advice to Management

    The basic knowledge needed to work is high high high probationary staff run out screaming in fright

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2015-06-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "''Unfair''"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have many different ways to help families in need.

    Cons

    They very unprofessional group of managers. They talk to the clients as if they are scum of the earth. They throw there job title around to make themselves seem to be a big shot to other clients. (personal experience)

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more attentive to the clients when the workers fall short of what they need to help a family in need.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2014-07-12
  10. "Overall, great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule that works with family.

    Cons

    Being underpaid, and not being compensated enough for travel pay.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2014-03-10
Found 12 reviews