Children’s Home Society of Florida "children and families" Reviews | Glassdoor

Children’s Home Society of Florida Employee Reviews about "children and families"

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Michael J. Shaver
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be difficult to feel effective as a "ground work" employee when a majority of the big decisions have to be made by upper management(in 16 reviews)

  • "low pay, long hours, little room to grow(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "children and families"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "CHS is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Longevity and sustainability of the agency. Most of the field have a great impact on the families and children they serve. Growth and development of people within the company.

    Cons

    The salaries are lower than private or corporate agencies because it is a non profit.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that policy changes that affect front line team members are communicated and feedback is encouraged on the outcome of the change.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2019-01-24

    Children’s Home Society of Florida Response

    May 20, 2019Chief Talent Officer

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We're committed to creating an open, transparent and collaborative environment for our team members -- your input helps us continue working to be the Employer of Choice in social services. We appreciate you and all the good you've done for the ...

    Show More
  2. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love working for CHS. I made a promise to myself that I would never work for an organization with questionable motives, and CHS has delivered. Everything they do is to even the odds for children and families in Florida. I go to sleep each night knowing I'm doing something to make the world a better place. I've made many friends over the years and can honestly say I enjoy most of the people I work with. My supervisors...

    Show More

    Cons

    Working at CHS is not easy (mentally draining) due to the type of work it is. However, it's very satisfying work and I can't think of a better alternative. Nobody should work for CHS with aspirations of becoming wealthy. As a non-profit, like most, they depend on government funding to pay the bills. As funding gets cut, there are hard decisions to make. Despite that, there are opportunities to advance at CHS for leaders...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Thank you.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2018-02-21
  3. "Great work, but high turn over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time

    Pros

    The work they do for children and families is amazing

    Cons

    Many staff have been laid off

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2018-02-17

    Children’s Home Society of Florida Response

    February 19, 2018Chief Talent Officer

    Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts. We are proud of what we do to serve children and families in need across Florida and we’re glad that you were a part of that. In maintaining fiscal accountability and focusing on CHS’s long-term sustainability, we had to recently ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CHS truly has an impact on the lives of many children and families in the state of Florida. It feels good knowing you're a part of that. The benefits are decent.

    Cons

    The pay is below industry average in the area.

    Advice to Management

    Employees need more opportunities to grow, upwards mobility, and pay raises.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-08-22
  5. "Program Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It allows me to help families and children have bridges to success. It allows me to build partnerships with other providers and bring community awareness to the needs of families and children. I love the opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    CHS is a non-profit, so like other non-profits we depend on donors and grants . We are limited in services/opportunities due to lack of funds.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to build trust, collaboration, and effective communication with staff. Make honoring staff in tangible ways a priority. Celebrate birthdays, weddings, births, "just because" days and proactively plan for events.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-08-22
  6. "CHS is a great team to be a part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Program Manager in South Daytona, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CHS is very supportive, they provide good supervision, and understand the importance of work life balance and self care. Some positions are very flexible and autonomous. The pay and benefits are competitive. It is very rewarding to work with families and children to help heal trauma. I can't think of a career that is more rewarding!

    Cons

    It takes several months before you start to feel confident in the role. Supervisors understand this is a challenge, and in the first few months they are very supportive and provide good feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Support and training is key!

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-06-19
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time

    Pros

    Interactions with children and families

    Cons

    Poor Management, Poor Supervision.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-04-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Clinical Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Counselor in Mid Florida, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work with children and families. The clients make the job worth it.

    Cons

    Organization does not practice ethical standards - Recent plan to decrease pay (change to hourly pay) and increase "required" hours (47.5) to work in order to reveive original hired salary. All of your resources to engage with children or other clients are expected to come out of clinician's pocket.

    Advice to Management

    Follow an ethical standard to both protect your employees from burnout by following the new labor laws and respect their sacrifices. Recognize the purpose of the new labor laws and be a responsible employer!!! Also, the foundation of this organization is going to crash because many employees are willing to leave due to how management is handling this situation.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2016-10-29
  9. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time

      Pros

      Great executive team focused on achieving the best outcomes for at-risk children and families

      Cons

      nothing bad to share about CHS

      Advice to Management

      Doing a great job at everythign

      Children’s Home Society of Florida2016-05-27
    • "Human Resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winter Springs, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Warm environment, flexibility, caring team. Organization makes a deep impact on clients, children and families. Decent benefits are offered and comparable.

      Cons

      Overworked, pay is below standards unless you are in upper management, low budgets prevent training opportunities or the ability to excel.

      Advice to Management

      Reward your employees, keep them engaged. Pitch in and help when you can. Recognize the pay is low for your employees.

      Children’s Home Society of Florida2016-05-18
    Found 187 reviews