Children’s Home Society of Florida "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Children’s Home Society of Florida Employee Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 187 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Michael J. Shaver
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be difficult to feel effective as a "ground work" employee when a majority of the big decisions have to be made by upper management(in 16 reviews)

  • "low pay, long hours, little room to grow(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Early Head Start Home Visitor in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Work from home Awesome place to network and grow within the company Frequent paid time off Friendly work environment

    Cons

    Driving from visit to visit can be exhausting. Case overloads. Underpaid Social worker

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2019-05-29
  2. "Good Starting Point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Youth/Care Worker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair Pay, good hours, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Supervisor unavailability, long shifts, not enough staff

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2019-05-23
  3. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love working for CHS. I made a promise to myself that I would never work for an organization with questionable motives, and CHS has delivered. Everything they do is to even the odds for children and families in Florida. I go to sleep each night knowing I'm doing something to make the world a better place. I've made many friends over the years and can honestly say I enjoy most of the people I work with. My supervisors...

    Show More

    Cons

    Working at CHS is not easy (mentally draining) due to the type of work it is. However, it's very satisfying work and I can't think of a better alternative. Nobody should work for CHS with aspirations of becoming wealthy. As a non-profit, like most, they depend on government funding to pay the bills. As funding gets cut, there are hard decisions to make. Despite that, there are opportunities to advance at CHS for leaders...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Thank you.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2018-02-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, upward mobility, flexible schedule, compassionate staff, work is rewarding, growth is a big focus which allows for more opportunities.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better but work life balance is a big focus.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-09-07
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Organization wide commitment to our mission and vision. Flexible schedules and great vacation, sick, and holiday benefits. 403B match

    Cons

    Salary not the best, but other things outweigh that.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-06-19
  6. "Nice place to work overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, quick accrual of vacation and sick time, workers are pleasant

    Cons

    workloads can be demanding sometimes

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-05-10
  7. "Family First Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time

    Pros

    High emphasis on client care Great resources for tracking hours Flexible schedules

    Cons

    Dependency can become high stress

    Advice to Management

    Allow as much flexibility as possible

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2017-04-18
  8. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dependency Case Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida

    Pros

    Great supervision many opportunities for growth constant raises flexible schedule

    Cons

    huge caseloads not enough support training does not match actual job duties lack of communication between divisions

    Advice to Management

    none

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2015-12-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    ""OK temporary job, after a while the workload piles on top of you""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dependency Case Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, no supervisors over your shoulder,

    Cons

    Highly stressful, EXTREMLEY heavy case loads, little to no support from supervisors and program directors.

    Advice to Management

    Show a little more appreciate for the backbone of your company i.e. DCM, Child Advocates, Social Workers. This company needs some SERIOUS organizational intervention!!! The turnover is so high in certain departments because there are too many expectations of one person, case load is too heavy and there is no support. There are a lot of flaws within this company.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2014-06-23
  10. "Overall, great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children’s Home Society of Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule that works with family.

    Cons

    Being underpaid, and not being compensated enough for travel pay.

    Children’s Home Society of Florida2014-03-10
Found 187 reviews