Children's Hospital & Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Children's Hospital & Medical Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Children's Hospital & Medical Center CEO Dr. Richard Azizkhan
Dr. Richard Azizkhan
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A very tough work environment when it comes to balancing a personal life with work(in 3 reviews)

  • "High Turnover (Traveling RN's now needed due to it)(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Come to Children's, Stay for Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor, Technical Training in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Children's is such an amazing place to work, from the staff, leadership, and especially our patients and families. Such a positive group!

    Cons

    Children's is growing so are going through those common growing pains. Growth is also a good thing since it also brings a certain level of job security.

    Advice to Management

    Compensation tends to trail behind other competitive organizations so we lose good people due to salary discrepancies.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2019-01-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Still a political corporate environment......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reimbursement Specialist in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible in their scheduling, can make up missed hours on occasion without getting in trouble. Benefits are good and there are a variety of them, but the deductibles are still high even when you don't choose the high deductible health plan. Tuition reimbursement is available. They don't charge you a copay to have your children seen at any of their facilities, including the ER.

    Cons

    They will not negotiate pay no matter how much experience you have for the position. Negative overtones in the work environment, almost hostile. All HR policies are based on nurse staffing requirements and needs rather than considering that not all employees are nurses and non-essential departments outside of nursing shouldn't be held to those requirements. Tuition reimbursement is minimal compared to the actual...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better regardless of how "great" the benefits are. The money we take home every two weeks still needs to be enough to pay our bills. Don't taut about having such a great benefits package when you're opting to raise the premiums and deductibles every year without raising our wages enough to compensate for it. Newsflash! Your employees with families aren't making enough to survive in this market! Not...

    Show More
    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2019-05-09
  3. "Outstanding Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Going through a lot of growth right now, but still feels like a family oriented place to work with great "values."

    Cons

    Not much. Communication sometimes takes awhile to trickle down to front line employees.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-06-27
  4. "Poor managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sterile Processing Technician in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The co-workers are outstanding. They try to support, uplift and guide each other to complete the mission. The overall organization has a wonderful goal and great benefits.

    Cons

    The managers in Material Management lack knowledge and the ability to guide, communicate and support their workers. The turn over is ridiculous and yet they still have no clue on why. There are a lot of great people who leave because of the manager. As a manager, discussing fellow workers to subordinates is not ok and bullying in the work place from management is happening quite often. Human Resources has continued...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    An outside perspective may be needed to change the mindset of current management. Education, training is greatly needed if you want the entire area to succeed and support the mission of the organization.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-07-03
  5. ":D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    great place to work, would recommend.

    Cons

    Can be demanding at times, dependent on pt census.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-06-09
  6. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Representative in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Everyone has high spirits, great team work, always willing to help each other out, awesome company goals and vision. Love seeing patients get better and grow! Some of the best doctors and nurses in the world work here! Some amazing things happen here!

    Cons

    Access department management. Extremely high turnover. Power trip. Acts like every little thing is a huge problem. Things that shouldn’t be a big problem are. Constantly changing the rules, is rude to employees and belittles them. Completely unethical.

    Advice to Management

    Many employees are unhappy.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-04-02

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center Response

    April 2, 2018Talent Sourcing Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your insights about Children's, and we agree - amazing things happen at Children's and we have world-class team members. We value open and honest communication and although you are no longer employed at Children's we encourage you to reach out to the Employee ...

    Show More
  7. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the job fulfillment is amazing, everyone is welcoming, encouraging and willing to work with you on any matter.

    Cons

    Not really a con. If you are a timid person you've got to get past that, bc everyone you encounter will expect direct honesty, and if you can't express this, they will presume you are doing great and don't need help. Just ask for help if you need it! they want you to feel independent. No micro managing.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-03-05
  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Children's does an excellent job of taking care of their employees! There's also the fact that you get to work with some really awesome kids!

    Cons

    When a child you are close to passes away. It's heartbreaking

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-02-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BSN in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Many opportunities to move within the company. Benefits available for part time employees. The company employs very competent people.

    Cons

    Employee turnover is high. When a clinic is short 2-4 staff members for over a year and the remaining employees are under pressure to keep up and do, they believe that clinic does not need to be fully staffed because they busted their hind ends off to get the job done. Administration is out of touch with what happens within the clinics and continue to add more responsibilities to the employees without providing additional...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Come work a month in our shoes and figure out how to keep your employees happy and in your employ.

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-02-11
  10. "Good place to work...only if you are a nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Hospital & Medical Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I like that we are able to work with children. The specialty clinics are full of knowledgeable doctors. They work well with each other to provide patient with the best care and outcome possible.

    Cons

    If you do not have a nursing degree, children's does not offer very many incentives and opportunities for advancement. Recognitions and management options require a bachelor's degree in nursing before you would be considered.

    Advice to Management

    Provide options for advancement for those whom do not want to go into nursing but have great management and communication skills

    Children's Hospital & Medical Center2018-01-24
Found 51 reviews