Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia CEO Madeline Bell (no image)
Madeline Bell
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits and great culture(in 52 reviews)

  • "CHOP is a collaborative work environment(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Terrible salaries and work life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "None, overall great work environment(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great

      Dec 10, 2020 - Licensed Clinical Social Worker LCSW in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, love working with kids and families. Work/life balance

      Cons

      Hard when you lose a patient who is a chilld

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nurse

      Jan 20, 2021 - Licensed Practical Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and schedule

      Cons

      Coworkers and upper management style

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Work life balance could be better

      Jan 1, 2021 - Clinical Research Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great research and high quality organization

      Cons

      Terrible salaries and work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great organization

      Sep 23, 2020 - Improvement Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work-life balance and competitive pay. Plenty of room for growth.

      Cons

      No cons at this time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company; Work Boring

      Sep 8, 2020 - Staff Accountant I in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CHOP is a great company to work for. The benefits are amazing, almost no overtime at all, a ton of time off, people are nice. I worked late literally 1 day and my boss checked in to see if everything was okay and sent me home. Really nice work life balance. The location for finance is great, right outside city hall, cool during holiday time since it is in the Macy's building with the light show. The CEO truly does a lot to inspire staff at all levels, in all lines of work. My boss genuinely cared about me and my career.

      Cons

      To be blunt: coming from public accounting I was incredibly bored. I was basically a glorified secretary, ran errors, and had to go to the post office often. Huge change from public accounting, often felt like I wasn't using my brain and wondered why I was hired as I felt there was very little work to do. There is almost no room for upward mobility, unless you start at manager level and above. In the beginning it seemed exciting that people had been there for 30+ years, but really, they just don't fire people they should. Very little flexibility, truely a 9-5, people would definitely notice if you showed up at 9:05. The building is super rundown and dirty, had black dust on my desk when the air conditioning went on. Also, it is business attire 4/5 days, relaxed dressed for summer.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Benefits

      Aug 25, 2020 - Clinical Research Program Manager in Phila, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, Paid time off, work life balance.

      Cons

      Internal promotions may keep you stagnant due to percentage cap.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid place to start new grad career

      Aug 20, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Resources and support staff always there to support you

      Cons

      Work/life balance is difficult with rotating schedule

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great place to start out but not after you get experience!

      Aug 10, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -staffing is better than I've seen at other hospitals -Prestigious name looks good on resume -easy in to U PENN -learn a lot and see rare conditions -culture on most units are positive (will get into this later)

      Cons

      -SNAs-the worst people i have ever worked with in my life. They complain every time i ask them to do something that they're "busy". this would be fine some of the time, but not EVERY shift and EVERY ask. a lot have been there for years so they can do and say whatever they want without pushback -MANAGEMENT IS THE WORST-never answers my questions and goes out of his way to ignore questions because he is overwhelmed -MOST UNORGANIZED HR I HAVE EVER SEEN-why is one guy in charge of everything? They told me I was going to start out at one unit and then 2 DAYS BEFORE MY START DATE they told me i was going to another unit? HR didn't even say anything it was a manager from that specific floor. -POOR WORK LIFE BALANCE-they say you can self schedule but then sign you up for whatever shift under the sun without regards to a sleep schedule or outside life. Switching from PM to AM shifts in the same week. It is clear I am just a number here they don't care about me personally. -pay is not that high

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Roller coaster

      Oct 29, 2020 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Covid has uncovered a lot of flaws

      Cons

      Management: huge problem, they watch out for each other, if your immediate manager gets word from her manager that they need staff to do something outside of their normal work flow (like a major job change; reassignment, etc) expect your manager to have meeting after meeting where they will exert pressure on you to comply with their wishes. Patient Safety: they have juggled nursing staff all over the place and have had multiple patient safety events, as a result they did not pause shuffling nurses around, they continue to do this while conducting a root cause analysis, to me it looks like the investigation is all for show. Work life balance: It’s been terrible for most nursing staff; covid has uncovered the absolute nastiness that is the CHOP department of nursing, we are nothing more than a resource, we are not people, they don’t care about us, we are nothing more than a number, to be played like chess pieces on their playing board: my advice to nurses, just because they are telling you to do it doesn’t means you should. Pay: pay is lower that every other hospital in the philly area, they say nurses work there for the name which is why new nurses suffer through a few years then move on. Education benefits: Absolutely terrible tuition reimbursement. Don’t accept a job if you’d like to further your education. Management is very manipulative, nurses can be bullies, work environment is not the best, trust issues with co workers at least for nursing. Nurses need a union to stop management from stomping all over them.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Admissions Coordinator

      Jul 10, 2020 - Admissions Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, time off, work life balance

      Cons

      No cons I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 English Reviews

    Work at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia? Share Your Experiences

    Children's Hospital of Philadelphia logo
    or