Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics President and CEO Paul Kempinski   (no image)
Paul Kempinski
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "guaranteed hours (most of the time) and good benefits(in 18 reviews)

  • "CMH is a company that supports their employees with great benefits and continuing education(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I left CMH because I felt uncomfortable after being discriminated against(in 9 reviews)

  • "Many doctors and techs are leaving, and if something in the upper management of the department doesn’t change soon, the clinic will be beyond repair(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Place to Work in Healthcare!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive management in my experience. Community as a whole has a lot of respect and gives a lot to this company.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little higher, but they do their best as a non-profit

    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-05-21
  2. "CMH review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vascular Access Nurse in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, good to the nurses.

    Cons

    I would have stayed if they would have given me a chance at a job as Nurse Practitioner.

    Continue reading
    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-05-20
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Tech in Kansas City, MO

    I have been working at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Patients are amazing and staff is great

    Cons

    Can get paid better at other hospitals around

    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-05-01
  4. "Service Excellence"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Service Excellence, Team Player, Allow Managers to Manage without Micro-managing

    Cons

    None to report - employed over 20 years.

    Continue reading
    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-04-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team atmosphere, positive relationship with management

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility, small annual raises (2%) regardless of performance

    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-03-09
  6. "Great place to work with kids"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT-B in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Loyal workers, hard workers, great patients

    Cons

    Pay, meetings all the time

    Continue reading
    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-03-12
  7. "Simply a Phenomenal Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Data Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    To be transparent, I was last employed here in 2013. I had to leave the KC area for family reasons. Otherwise, I would still be employed there. I loved the responsibility that was given to me;It was great interacting with the patient families; I loved the work that I was doing, and the leadership in the Hem/Onc department was outstanding. Most of all, I really miss my coworkers (and our occasional pot lucks)! The Admin Assistant team is simply the best! I had a blast working there.

    Cons

    No organization is perfect, but I honestly can't think of any glaring negative issues.

    Continue reading
    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-03-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Children’s Mercy Hospital"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Politically correct atmosphere and management

    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-03-03
  9. "Management and environment can make work difficult"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant 

    I worked at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time

    Pros

    guaranteed hours (most of the time) and good benefits

    Cons

    management is not understanding about when their employees are ill (physically or mentally), and they do not help when their employees are unhappy with the environment. the environment of most departments is a lot like high school... cliques and lots of gossip. management also did not seem to care when I explained that I suffer from a chronic mental health issue and that can sometimes affect my physician health they didn’t seem to care, they sent me to HR (where I was ignored)

    Continue reading
    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-03-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with kids is the best.

    Cons

    New management fails to recognize the small differences in departments.

    Continue reading
    Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics2020-02-17
Found 240 reviews