Childtime Learning Center "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Childtime Learning Center Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
41%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Childtime Learning Center CEO Mark R. Bierley
Mark R. Bierley
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very low pay, long hours, health insurance was expensive with high copays(in 21 reviews)

  • "Understaffed VERY HIGH TURNOVER RATE(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Childtime Opinions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Teacher in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Get to affect a child's life via implementation of corporate curriculum

    Cons

    -Low pay -If enrollment numbers are low may be difficult to get consistent hours

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2016-06-30
  2. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Katy, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with kids More hours Experience with children

    Cons

    Management does not care for children or staff Poor hygiene at the centers Extremely low pay

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2020-02-17

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    February 21, 2020Digital Reputation Coordinator

    Thanks for the review. This is upsetting to hear, we can promise you that the children and the families we serve, as well as our staff are our main priority. Childtime is dedicated in our mission to care for children and families as well as creating a positive work environment for all our employees. Thanks again for the review.

    Continue reading
  3. "I love my center but this company has many corporate issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The director and teachers I work with are why I have remained with this company.

    Cons

    Low pay, constantly told to cut hours and move kids around to do so. They keep adding new programs but not giving us the resources to do them (hours/appropriate supplies). The fact that Assistant directors haven't been made salaried is wrong. We're expected to run the building when our directors are out but are not properly compensated for it. I've been with the company for 10 years and make less than $15 an hour. We're told that we take pay cuts because we work with children but a billion dollar corporation can do better.

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2019-11-11

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Reputation Coordinator

    We’re sorry you had a disappointing experience working with us. Childtime is dedicated in our mission to care for children and families as well as creating a positive work environment for all of our employees. It can be challenging work, but we absolutely want our teachers to enjoy all the rewards early childhood education can bring. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "managment is not supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Rowlett, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center part-time

    Pros

    hugs, good coworkers, hours, flexible managment

    Cons

    low pay, high turnover, little support, corporate rules are dumb

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2019-08-06

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    October 28, 2019Digital Reputation Coordinator

    Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed working with your coworkers. A strong network of peers, school leadership and corporate support all contribute to providing a positive environment for our school-based employees. We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the level of support you received from upper management. Thank you again for sharing your perspective.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Underpaid teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Plymouth, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of leeway to decorate and run my classroom how I wanted, awesome director, supportive parents

    Cons

    Very low pay, long hours, health insurance was expensive with high copays

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2019-08-14

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    August 19, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review. We are happy to hear, you enjoyed working with the children and families, as well as your director at your center. As a company, we strive to provide a supportive work environment that offers a development path for a meaningful and fulfilling career. As part of that, we regularly evaluate employee compensation and benefits to ensure they are competitive within the industry and geographically. Thanks again for the insights.

    Continue reading
  6. "High turnover rate due to poor mgmt."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center full-time

    Pros

    The kids are great. Day shifts.

    Cons

    The low pay. Too much drama among teachers. Favoritism from office staff. Very unprofessional mgmt.

    Childtime Learning Center2019-07-27

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    August 19, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed working with the children at your center. As a company, we strive to provide a supportive work environment that offers a development path for a meaningful and fulfilling career. As part of that, we regularly evaluate employee compensation and benefits to ensure they are competitive within the industry. Thanks again for the insights.

    Continue reading
  7. "Childtime at Orange"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center

    Pros

    The families were amazing! At the time I worked there, the teachers were also close-knit.

    Cons

    Low pay, and I felt under-appreciated by management.

    Childtime Learning Center2017-07-27

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    July 30, 2018Recruiting Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear you did not receive proper support from upper management during your time with Childtime. We are happy to hear though you loved the families at your school and created a bond with your fellow coworkers. Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Former Lead Toddler teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Toddler Teacher in Ellet, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sadly, none. I didn't even get to enjoy my time with the children since there were so many severe behavior issues (glasses were broken due to being hit in the face with a wooden block, was cussed at by 2 year olds, etc.)

    Cons

    Extremely low pay, raises were a joke. Maybe 15 cents a year, if you were lucky. Director was extremely unprofessional and spent most of her time gossiping about families and staff members. Sick kids were never sent home. We had a lot of kids with lice and we were told that it was a hygiene issue and there was nothing they could do about it. Director would force you to work 9-11 hour shifts and then make you take a 2-3 hour lunch break the next day because they refused to give overtime and couldn't keep the center properly staffed. I was typically way over ratio but was told to sign the assistant director on my face to name so it wouldn't look like I was over ratio. Director played favoritism. The "3rd in charge" was paid to stand up front and gossip with the director and if you were over ratio or needed a restroom break, you were either completely ignored or told that she was busy so we would just have to wait. While I was 9 months pregnant, I was told that the bathroom floor around the toilets needed scrubbed. When I asked if someone else could do it, I was threaten with being fired for being insubordinate.

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2017-07-26

    Childtime Learning Center Response

    September 10, 2018Recruiting Manager

    We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience as a Childtime employee. Childtime is committed to providing a positive and safe work environment. The concerns that you have mentioned are ones that we take very seriously, and will be noted for further action. Thanks again for the insights.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "DONT EVEN CONSIDER IT......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Children and their families...thats it

    Cons

    Low pay Inconsistant schedule Management NOT qualified to do their job HIGH turnover rate Benefits are almost nonexistent They want people in the field and with degrees but don't want to pay you any extra.

    Continue reading
    Childtime Learning Center2017-05-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not what they make it seem when they hire you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Childtime Learning Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Children and their families! Making friends with some coworkers. Closed weekends and some holidays! Open all year so income is always coming.

    Cons

    Lots of favoritism... Gives master teacher position to non qualified people. Teachers will get kicked out of their room to give them to other teachers without an explanation. LOW PAY. benefits are a joke. No supplies.

    Childtime Learning Center2016-07-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews