Chill Insurance "chill" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chill Insurance Employee Reviews about "chill"

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chill Insurance CEO Michael McLaughlin
Michael McLaughlin
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you have a spare hour to wait on hold to customer service to get through to unbelievably inexperienced staff well then chill is the place for you(in 14 reviews)

  • "Turnover of staff across all levels of the business makes it difficult to establish any career path(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "chill"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great starting place for those inexperienced in an office environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sandyford

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good induction in my training pods case one month long. Relaxed work environment. Casual dress code.

    Cons

    Poor salary (customer service) Start between 22,000 to 24,000 potentially more with insurance exams. Alot to learn quickly, Chill has many insurers on its books for car,van and household insurance.Each company has different rules,timeframes,acceptance criteria ect... There are some spreadsheets available with necessary information but these need improving. High staff turnover can put agents under alot of pressure, when I left there were ample staff (14 phone agents) but this can change quickly. When I initially joined there were 5 agents handling 700 to 1,000 calls(50%+ abandon rate at this time) Poor bonus structure €100 per month attached to call quality test,time keeping and attendance.Bar the bonus there is no way to make more money on the customer service floor no cross sales commission (even though this is marked in call quality tests),extra Saturday shifts are being phased out and during my time there time in lieu was no longer available. Most people will try to get off phones on the CS floor and move to email or webchat team asap. Moving up to sales,renewals or the adjustments team is a very long process from the CS floor.

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2020-01-18
  2. "Dreadful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Chill Insurance

    Pros

    Sports and Social is about it

    Cons

    CEO doesn’t care about the customer he just cares about getting the customer. After that for a customer you’re pretty much in trouble. If you have a spare hour to wait on hold to customer service to get through to unbelievably inexperienced staff well then chill is the place for you. Lost a lot of good team leaders and agents over the years but everyone one us ‘replaceable’ straight from the mouth of the CEO. Everyone got pulled into a meeting and were told basically if you aren’t happy here is the door.

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2020-01-02
  3. "Chill has no chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Compeditive environment melting pot of hyperactive selling of insurance

    Cons

    No chill at chill rotating door for employees out as quick as they came in

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2019-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Sports and social (but you can get an equally good s&s in most offices)

    Cons

    Honestly such a disaster to work for!!! I worked in customer care and I was told that I cared too much... There is no thought given to the customers at all. Managers only care about stats and not the quality of work. Managers refuse to take calls from frustrated customers, all this does is infuriate the customer more. I usally have quiet good mental health but I was really struggling when working in chill so I would advise anyone to stay away.

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2019-11-28
  5. "Treat us like children"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    None really. See comments below.

    Cons

    At Chill, there have been many requests to senior management to get rid of the disposable cups. The CEO responded saying that it wouldn’t work because we won’t clean the “keep cups” that would replace them. Jeez - if the CEO has no trust in his staff, then it’s a lost cause!

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2019-11-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "What a kip"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None- the place is a nightmare

    Cons

    Everything - they don’t listen to their staff, everyone is a number. If I could rate Chill a -10 I would

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2019-04-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sandyford
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sports and social has good events , colleagues

    Cons

    Other than one or two managers , the others are not much help , spend more time on there phones and if you ask for help they will try distance themselves from assisting you to save them the stress. Never have i seen supervisors be able to sit around talking about social media and online shopping like I have in chill while others are left to do everything else. The company are happy to have such a turnover in staff to keep the wages low but the company is run terribly , once the customers money is taking customer service goes out the window

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2018-04-27
  8. "Telesales Role- Dublin South"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Sandyford
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Team Environment Young fun floor- can only speak for sales floor Free lunches Social life- great nights out Insurance knowledge/Training- I had no previous Insurance experience and training was great at breaking it down in simple terms for me Insurance exams are paid for

    Cons

    I loved my time at Chill but left to travel as I moved abroad! If I came back to Ireland I would come back, theres a great buzz in the office and I made great friends!

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2018-03-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sports & Social - lots of great events especially in house events, nice to get a breather. Team leaders in CS are approachable and willing to help.

    Cons

    Some people in the department give out too much. Senior management don't seem to care about customers or customer services once they are already with chill. Too much turnover of staff and leads to more people leaving because of the stress.

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2017-12-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid this place - not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chill Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Some really good people to work with, shocking people to work for...

    Cons

    No staff appreciation, if you make a mistake that causes financial loss (even though you were never trained) they deduct from your wage. Looked down on if you don't stay late and work through lunch. Office is generally dirty, lunch plates on floor etc. Zero benefits! Not a company to have on your CV as Chill brand isn't well regarded! Much better options in almost any other company. Honestly just avoid this place.

    Continue reading
    Chill Insurance2017-10-27
Found 14 reviews