Chill Insurance Employee Reviews about "chill"

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
46%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Chill Insurance CEO Michael McLaughlin
Michael McLaughlin
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a fun place to work and the sports and social provide good events(in 9 reviews)

  • "fellow staff are great and friendly to newbies(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If you have a spare hour to wait on hold to customer service to get through to unbelievably inexperienced staff well then chill is the place for you(in 14 reviews)

  • "Turnover of staff across all levels of the business makes it difficult to establish any career path(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "chill"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dreadful

      Jan 2, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sports and Social is about it

      Cons

      CEO doesn’t care about the customer he just cares about getting the customer. After that for a customer you’re pretty much in trouble. If you have a spare hour to wait on hold to customer service to get through to unbelievably inexperienced staff well then chill is the place for you. Lost a lot of good team leaders and agents over the years but everyone one us ‘replaceable’ straight from the mouth of the CEO. Everyone got pulled into a meeting and were told basically if you aren’t happy here is the door.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great starting place for those inexperienced in an office environment

      Jan 18, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Sandyford
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good induction in my training pods case one month long. Relaxed work environment. Casual dress code.

      Cons

      Poor salary (customer service) Start between 22,000 to 24,000 potentially more with insurance exams. Alot to learn quickly, Chill has many insurers on its books for car,van and household insurance.Each company has different rules,timeframes,acceptance criteria ect... There are some spreadsheets available with necessary information but these need improving. High staff turnover can put agents under alot of pressure, when I left there were ample staff (14 phone agents) but this can change quickly. When I initially joined there were 5 agents handling 700 to 1,000 calls(50%+ abandon rate at this time) Poor bonus structure €100 per month attached to call quality test,time keeping and attendance.Bar the bonus there is no way to make more money on the customer service floor no cross sales commission (even though this is marked in call quality tests),extra Saturday shifts are being phased out and during my time there time in lieu was no longer available. Most people will try to get off phones on the CS floor and move to email or webchat team asap. Moving up to sales,renewals or the adjustments team is a very long process from the CS floor.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst Job I've ever had

      Nov 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sports and social (but you can get an equally good s&s in most offices)

      Cons

      Honestly such a disaster to work for!!! I worked in customer care and I was told that I cared too much... There is no thought given to the customers at all. Managers only care about stats and not the quality of work. Managers refuse to take calls from frustrated customers, all this does is infuriate the customer more. I usally have quiet good mental health but I was really struggling when working in chill so I would advise anyone to stay away.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Chill has no chill

      Oct 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compeditive environment melting pot of hyperactive selling of insurance

      Cons

      No chill at chill rotating door for employees out as quick as they came in

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Treat us like children

      Nov 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None really. See comments below.

      Cons

      At Chill, there have been many requests to senior management to get rid of the disposable cups. The CEO responded saying that it wouldn’t work because we won’t clean the “keep cups” that would replace them. Jeez - if the CEO has no trust in his staff, then it’s a lost cause!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      What a kip

      Apr 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None- the place is a nightmare

      Cons

      Everything - they don’t listen to their staff, everyone is a number. If I could rate Chill a -10 I would

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Sandyford
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent starting salary, excellent commission, great banter with all the employees. Office looks smart and modern. Managers are like your friends. Offer excellent incentives(Plays games to keep you motivated, win vouchers,scratch cards ect), orders in lunches. Hours are decent. Targets are achievable in this market. Communication between management and staff has dramatically improved over the last year.

      Cons

      Hard to change departments, no further opportunities given to tenure agents. Turn over is big in most companies but Chill have training staff that have not sat an exam, which therefore is not APA'd so turn over rate is bound to higher

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Enjoyable place to work

      Dec 6, 2017 - Customer Service Agent in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sports & Social - lots of great events especially in house events, nice to get a breather. Team leaders in CS are approachable and willing to help.

      Cons

      Some people in the department give out too much. Senior management don't seem to care about customers or customer services once they are already with chill. Too much turnover of staff and leads to more people leaving because of the stress.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Telesales Role- Dublin South

      Mar 1, 2018 - Sales Agent in Sandyford
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Team Environment Young fun floor- can only speak for sales floor Free lunches Social life- great nights out Insurance knowledge/Training- I had no previous Insurance experience and training was great at breaking it down in simple terms for me Insurance exams are paid for

      Cons

      I loved my time at Chill but left to travel as I moved abroad! If I came back to Ireland I would come back, theres a great buzz in the office and I made great friends!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Went Rapidly Downhill

      Jun 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff!! Generally a great bunch of people that deserve to do well. The new office is well set up. it can give you a good foot on the 1st rung of the insurance ladder and will help you to get exams

      Cons

      Staff aren't listened to. slave driving, micro management of both sales agents and TL's. senior management are not willing to accept responsibility and constantly pass the blame these people who have no idea how to sell or what is possible. Chill rapidly declined as a place to work and its in the most part down to a small minority

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Work at Chill Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    Chill Insurance logo
    or