Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
David Chen
9 Ratings
  1. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship 

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    People in the officer are very friendly.

    Cons

    The office space is limited.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-08-20
  2. "It's pretty decent. Pay isn't much for 20hrs a week but its something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clocking in is simple using your SSN

    Cons

    Can't do over time they will deduct from you and you'll end up working more than getting paid. Gotta be really precise with clocking in and out

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-07-19
  3. "easy atmosphere if you do your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2pm-6pm working hours work with a partner with a class of 12-15 elementary schoolers

    Cons

    learn on the job they expect you to do okay by yourself

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-06-04
  4. "Good experience in children day care program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Teacher Assistant 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Community driven organization where everyone knows each other. Great for some experience in children after school program.

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-04-11
  5. "Admin Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Administrative 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staffs, calm pace of work

    Cons

    Wish there was more attention and support to help me develop and learn more skills at the time. Reflecting back to the time when I was an intern, I felt that I didn't develop much skills nor were there much attentive one on one training or advising, thus I only stayed for one month.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-02-22
  6. "Awedome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

    Pros

    Easy jobs and easy place and easy teacher

    Cons

    Room for growth and the treatment

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-02-12
  7. "They're OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

    Pros

    Not too many cons besides the fact that they dont bother much

    Cons

    super old school, never available for calls, near call back, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Update System

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-02-04
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    The employees there were super nice. My supervisor always tried to give me interesting and substantive work to do.

    Cons

    There are no cons.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-01-12
  9. "Great Organization with Great Objectives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is very supportive, the environment is suitable for entry level and student workers, convenient location, a variety of programs to specialize

    Cons

    little to no opportunity for growth, low pay, small office

    Advice to Management

    There should be more ways to appreciate the various departments that have bigger workloads with more benefits or better wages. Under the Case Planning department, the workload is often overlooked.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2018-08-28
  10. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    While I cannot say for most non-profit organization, looking back, there were a lot of things that I took for granted that I realized was valuable for someone who was looking for opportunities to grow at a work place environment with any background. These included professional coworkers and supervisors who were polite and respectful in educating, training and dealing with new coworkers who have made mistakes. There...

    Show More

    Cons

    The most obvious would probably be low pay and occasional overtime depending which department you worked in. But despite these drawbacks, it should not steer anyone from working here. Reason being this place has great culture and make sure the workers are appreciated for the work they do. Furthermore despite the low pay, there are some who have work here for years before moving on due to the friendly environment which...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I cannot say due to my short time frame in the organization. But I can say, keep up the good work. The work culture is something to be respected. Perhaps expand, but that is asking a little bit too much since a lot of their funding is government based which greatly determines its programs and how much staff they can have at a given time.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2018-08-22
Found 59 reviews