Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Chinese-American Planning Council CEO David Chen (no image)
David Chen
6 Ratings
  1. "Great experience so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Personal Care Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    From my own experience working for CAPC, several pros I've come across the year and some months are: - Flexible hours - Coordinator who I normally speak with is amazing and helpful -Overall it gives you the ability to take care of a family member or loved one whether you're a live-in or not

    Cons

    For as long as I have been working here I can say the only cons I've come across are: -The number to clock in/out sometimes doesn't work so if you don't have the backup number, you might have to wait for a timesheet to come in -SOMETIMES management can be a bit of a hassle to get to or even get questions answered at times

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for making this possible. I am able to attend to my brother with my flexible schedule as well as still make ends meet being a full-time student.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-09-13
  2. "SYEP job, flexible work hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in New York, NY

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good jobs hours, flexible and managers were chill

    Cons

    a bit messy organization wise, communication between workers and upper management isn't the best

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-09-06
  3. "It's pretty decent. Pay isn't much for 20hrs a week but its something"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clocking in is simple using your SSN

    Cons

    Can't do over time they will deduct from you and you'll end up working more than getting paid. Gotta be really precise with clocking in and out

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-07-19
  4. "easy atmosphere if you do your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2pm-6pm working hours work with a partner with a class of 12-15 elementary schoolers

    Cons

    learn on the job they expect you to do okay by yourself

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-06-04
  5. "Good experience in children day care program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Teacher Assistant 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Community driven organization where everyone knows each other. Great for some experience in children after school program.

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-04-11
  6. "Awedome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

    Pros

    Easy jobs and easy place and easy teacher

    Cons

    Room for growth and the treatment

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-02-12
  7. "They're OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

    Pros

    Not too many cons besides the fact that they dont bother much

    Cons

    super old school, never available for calls, near call back, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Update System

    Chinese-American Planning Council2019-02-04
  8. "Great Organization with Great Objectives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is very supportive, the environment is suitable for entry level and student workers, convenient location, a variety of programs to specialize

    Cons

    little to no opportunity for growth, low pay, small office

    Advice to Management

    There should be more ways to appreciate the various departments that have bigger workloads with more benefits or better wages. Under the Case Planning department, the workload is often overlooked.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2018-08-28
  9. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    While I cannot say for most non-profit organization, looking back, there were a lot of things that I took for granted that I realized was valuable for someone who was looking for opportunities to grow at a work place environment with any background. These included professional coworkers and supervisors who were polite and respectful in educating, training and dealing with new coworkers who have made mistakes. ... There were deadlines to look out for, communities to reach out to and departments to communicate with, but they could be completed at a reasonable time frame. The staff believe that there were many ways to get assignments done which is great because that means no supervisor/coworker would be breathing down your neck and expecting you to follow a procedure step by step as long as you did what you had to based on the guidelines. To show appreciation, coworkers/supervisor would host parties or events such as group lunch just for the sake of having a good time. All in all, it just felt a lot of things were taken care of in order for you to focus on your work.

    Show More

    Cons

    The most obvious would probably be low pay and occasional overtime depending which department you worked in. But despite these drawbacks, it should not steer anyone from working here. Reason being this place has great culture and make sure the workers are appreciated for the work they do. Furthermore despite the low pay, there are some who have work here for years before moving on due to the friendly environment... which many work places lack.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I cannot say due to my short time frame in the organization. But I can say, keep up the good work. The work culture is something to be respected. Perhaps expand, but that is asking a little bit too much since a lot of their funding is government based which greatly determines its programs and how much staff they can have at a given time.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2018-08-22
  10. "SYEP TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SYEP TA in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - you will learn a lot about handling children - some staff are nice and accommodating - kids are rewarding to work with

    Cons

    - cliquey teachers divided into groups are usually a bad sign of an unhealthy work environment. - There are either very hardworking teachers or extremely lazy teachers - co-workers can be cold, excluding and gossipy - management does not seem to care about employees, give credit or appreciate your efforts - little to no growth, very static environment

    Advice to Management

    Try to hire more competent teachers who actually care about the students or at least provide proper guidelines to educating children instead of dismissing internal problems. The toxic environment is what's driving away many of your teachers. Get rid of internal affairs and be more professional to the employees.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2018-08-17
Found 51 reviews