Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
David Chen
6 Ratings
  1. "Good entry level jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

    Pros

    Great for those with little experience and are looking to gain more knowledge. Opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Facility/technology needs to be updated to keep up with growing demands. Salary is low compared to similar positions in other organizations

    Advice to Management

    Invest in updating facility and technolgy

    Chinese-American Planning Council2017-06-17
  2. "Nice colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

    Pros

    Leaders and colleagues are nice.

    Cons

    Since it is the down Manhattan, there is no parking area in that place.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2017-03-21
  3. "Entry Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated staff, benefits are decent,

    Cons

    Salary is lower than other similar positions

    Chinese-American Planning Council2017-03-03
  4. "Good Non-profit That Needs To figure Out Kinks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

    Pros

    - nice co-workers - everyone believes in serving marginalized communities

    Cons

    - some office politics and fiscal issues

    Chinese-American Planning Council2017-02-21
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

    Pros

    Staff and supervisors are very nice and understanding, willing to help with any questions you may have.

    Cons

    Workplace is a tad bit disorganized, a lot of random papers floating around. Could use a little more organization

    Advice to Management

    Other than the bit of disorganization, I have no other things to say other than come up with a more organized system for filing important documents.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2016-09-30
  6. "Good company to learn/grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in New York, NY

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked for the Chinese-American Planning Council for six years and I enjoyed my experience there. I was an ESL teacher and job developer. I learned a lot from my former director, J.C. and supervisor S.C. I made friends but most of all teaching my students was the greatest experience. I was laid off, but if I wasn't I would still work for them. Pay was decent.

    Cons

    There were some favoritism between teachers, and sometimes not being the same culture or race of the staff (predominately Chinese) made things tough to be fully accepted. I'm speaking from personal experience. Also, I wish being informed of my lay off was done in a professional manner.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with staff regarding pending lay offs, fair treatment of staff being let go (professionalism is a MUST), less favoritism, more acceptance of all people from all races and backgrounds.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2016-09-14
  7. "Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly. Staff and supervisors are very engaging. Always offer opportunities that will help you develop. Very active in the community

    Cons

    Not much negativity. I enjoyed working here. Socialized and met a lot of friends who have the same goal as you do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in serving the community!

    Chinese-American Planning Council2016-09-13
  8. "Group Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

    Pros

    very supportive environment. great fellow teachers.

    Cons

    can't really think of any

    Chinese-American Planning Council2016-09-08
  9. "Home Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Home Attendant 

      I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council

      Pros

      Practicing on becoming any type of nurse

      Cons

      Remembering a lot of things

      Chinese-American Planning Council2016-06-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great starting place to get experience but not for long-term career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

        Pros

        Pays higher than other nonprofits but still bare minimum Friendly and flexible work environment Given autonomy on work

        Cons

        The pay is low for the amount of effort and work put into programming. Management is nonexistent and supervisors barely provide guideline on how to do the job. Workers are hired through connections and often do not possess enough experience or education to perform job well. Programming is tiring and does not compensate for all the effort and time staff puts in. Facility is old and cramped.

        Chinese-American Planning Council2016-03-23
      Found 49 reviews