Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
David Chen
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Previous Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Internship in Brooklyn, NY

      I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council for less than a year

      Pros

      Nice & friendly people.

      Cons

      Lack of guidance and training.

      Chinese-American Planning Council2015-12-11
    • "Great opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council

        Pros

        Great chance to meet students

        Cons

        Had bosses with bad attitudes

        Advice to Management

        Take employer reviews seriously

        Chinese-American Planning Council2015-11-02
      • "Administrative Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Island City, NY

        I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

        Pros

        I work under the Federal work program establish by U. S. Department of Labor for senior. As an Administrative Assistant working for a Social Justice Organization my duties and responsibility is developing response to prisoners letters throughout the country seeking information, materials pertaining to Housing, Re-entry Programs and Legal and health issues.

        Cons

        Working for the Chinese-American Planning Council, Inc., formerly The Partnership for the Homeless, is the supervising agency for the Federal Work program, Senior Community Service Employment Program, for the Host Agency, which is the Fortune Society where I work part time.

        Advice to Management

        I am an accountant by trade. I have extensive work experience in Finance and in preparing and filing Federal, State and Local corporate income tax returns. I also have extensive proofreading experience, both financial and legal, for a large financial institution and law firm. I am able to multi -task ,work with little or no supervision and to work well with the team.

        Chinese-American Planning Council2015-09-16
      • Helpful (3)

        "Its ok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Teacher's Aide in Corona, NY

        I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council for less than a year

        Pros

        The kids were great to work with, and the location was a plus.

        Cons

        The staff was not easy to work with and often excluded you off

        Advice to Management

        Be more inclusive to staff members of different backgrounds

        Chinese-American Planning Council2015-08-14
      • "Positive"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

          Pros

          I worked as a TA through SYEP at one of the affiliated public school locations over the summer and it was a pleasant experience.

          Cons

          The salary was minimum wage through SYEP

          Chinese-American Planning Council2015-07-20
        • Helpful (1)

          "good part-time opportunity"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Culture & Values
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I work in one of the public school locations where there is a great sense of community, almost like a large family. The staff works together very well, everyone is friendly and willing to lend a hand. It's a great place for a part-time job, and a great foothold for those looking to gain some experience in a school setting. As part of the teaching staff, you really develop a close bond with your students, and many...

          Show More

          Cons

          There's a lot of pressure on the students and teachers to keep up with the DOE core curriculum standards. The classroom setting can be chaotic, especially for someone inexperienced with handling large groups of children.

          Chinese-American Planning Council2015-05-27
        • "Positive"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

          Pros

          Meet a lot of great people a lot of interesting events really great supervisors

          Cons

          there weren't any cons for me

          Advice to Management

          I think everyone is done fairly well already

          Chinese-American Planning Council2015-02-23
        • Helpful (1)

          "Work Environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

          Pros

          It is a chill and relax place to work. Great and friendly co-workers.

          Cons

          A lot of behind the scene drama with upper management or other branches of the company.

          Chinese-American Planning Council2015-03-03
        • "small company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council

            Pros

            Nice Staff people are helpful location is good

            Cons

            No promotion opportunity Salary is not competitive

            Chinese-American Planning Council2015-01-07
          • "Great Company but limited growth"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Head Teacher in New York, NY
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for more than 5 years

            Pros

            This company is a great stepping stone for prospective teachers and those looking into a career in education

            Cons

            Limited hours and resources.

            Chinese-American Planning Council2014-09-12
          Found 49 reviews