Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Chinese-American Planning Council Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Chinese-American Planning Council CEO David Chen (no image)
David Chen
6 Ratings
  1. "Home Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Home Attendant 

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    Practicing on becoming any type of nurse

    Cons

    Remembering a lot of things

    Chinese-American Planning Council2016-06-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great starting place to get experience but not for long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council full-time

    Pros

    Pays higher than other nonprofits but still bare minimum Friendly and flexible work environment Given autonomy on work

    Cons

    The pay is low for the amount of effort and work put into programming. Management is nonexistent and supervisors barely provide guideline on how to do the job. Workers are hired through connections and often do not possess enough experience or education to perform job well. Programming is tiring and does not compensate for all the effort and time staff puts in. Facility is old and cramped.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2016-03-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Previous Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Internship in Brooklyn, NY

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice & friendly people.

    Cons

    Lack of guidance and training.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-12-11
  4. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    Great chance to meet students

    Cons

    Had bosses with bad attitudes

    Advice to Management

    Take employer reviews seriously

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-11-02
  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Island City, NY

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time

    Pros

    I work under the Federal work program establish by U. S. Department of Labor for senior. As an Administrative Assistant working for a Social Justice Organization my duties and responsibility is developing response to prisoners letters throughout the country seeking information, materials pertaining to Housing, Re-entry Programs and Legal and health issues.

    Cons

    Working for the Chinese-American Planning Council, Inc., formerly The Partnership for the Homeless, is the supervising agency for the Federal Work program, Senior Community Service Employment Program, for the Host Agency, which is the Fortune Society where I work part time.

    Advice to Management

    I am an accountant by trade. I have extensive work experience in Finance and in preparing and filing Federal, State and Local corporate income tax returns. I also have extensive proofreading experience, both financial and legal, for a large financial institution and law firm. I am able to multi -task ,work with little or no supervision and to work well with the team.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-09-16
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher's Aide in Corona, NY

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids were great to work with, and the location was a plus.

    Cons

    The staff was not easy to work with and often excluded you off

    Advice to Management

    Be more inclusive to staff members of different backgrounds

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-08-14
  7. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    I worked as a TA through SYEP at one of the affiliated public school locations over the summer and it was a pleasant experience.

    Cons

    The salary was minimum wage through SYEP

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good part-time opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chinese-American Planning Council part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work in one of the public school locations where there is a great sense of community, almost like a large family. The staff works together very well, everyone is friendly and willing to lend a hand. It's a great place for a part-time job, and a great foothold for those looking to gain some experience in a school setting. As part of the teaching staff, you really develop a close bond with your students, and... many times it can be a great deal of fun. Especially when you get to go on class trips with them. It's much easier to get a position in the company if you know a current employee, and the processing for when I was hired was very quick.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a lot of pressure on the students and teachers to keep up with the DOE core curriculum standards. The classroom setting can be chaotic, especially for someone inexperienced with handling large groups of children.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-05-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    It is a chill and relax place to work. Great and friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    A lot of behind the scene drama with upper management or other branches of the company.

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-03-03
  10. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Chinese-American Planning Council

    Pros

    Meet a lot of great people a lot of interesting events really great supervisors

    Cons

    there weren't any cons for me

    Advice to Management

    I think everyone is done fairly well already

    Chinese-American Planning Council2015-02-23
Found 51 reviews