Chinese American Service League Reviews | Glassdoor

Chinese American Service League Reviews

Updated Mar 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bernarda Wong
7 Ratings
  1. "DOA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chinese American Service League full-time

    Pros

    social awareness, culture, mission to provide and assist, program services, community partner, history, valuable contributions

    Cons

    needs more support to continue to provide the quality of programming that it does. with cuts in congress, we may need to change and/or cut programs.

    Advice to Management

    Top Advisor

    Chinese American Service League2015-05-26
  2. "not my favorite place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese American Service League full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    most employees are friendly and hard working good mission highly regarded in chinese community great restaurants in the area like new ceo a lot and he will make sure that casl gets to the next level strong and engaged board

    Cons

    some in management walk around with noses in the air as if they are better than everyone else in the organization pay structure is low for what they expect you to do very hierarichal so if you're not in management you really aren't very important

    Advice to Management

    listen to what employees have to say revamp salary structure so there isn't so much turnover

    Chinese American Service League2019-03-01
  3. "Just fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chinese American Service League full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission is strong and co-workers are generally really easy to work with.

    Cons

    Organization is transitioning from being managed by the founder for 40 years to new individuals. Some aspects of the transition can be rocky.

    Chinese American Service League2018-09-20
  4. "Overall Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese American Service League full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great starting job. The people there are pretty friendly.

    Cons

    Most of the people there are Chinese, which makes sense, but there is definitely a lot of separation between the Chinese vs. non-Chinese people.

    Chinese American Service League2017-08-31
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chinese American Service League

    Pros

    Good work hours and decent compensation.

    Cons

    Lack of communication and support.

    Chinese American Service League2017-05-15
  6. "Youth Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Youth Counselor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chinese American Service League full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    sponsor H1B and Green card

    Cons

    FEW training supports for current employees

    Chinese American Service League2017-01-25
  7. "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese American Service League full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, People, atmosphere is great

    Cons

    management team definitely needs improvements

    Chinese American Service League2017-01-26
  8. "Nice job but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chinese American Service League

    Pros

    Friendly environment and coworkers, low pressure

    Cons

    Not much room for promotion

    Chinese American Service League2017-01-06
  9. "Counselor Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chinese American Service League for less than a year

    Pros

    People speak my native language here

    Cons

    Higher ups are stubborn about what they think

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to your employees

    Chinese American Service League2016-06-08
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chinese American Service League

    Pros

    They offer a relaxed, well-paced, while also challenging work-environment. Pushes interns to work hard while also emphasizing the importance of loving what you do.

    Cons

    I'd say the worst part of this Intern is that some employees there treat interns like trash and they feel as if something is owed to them.

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I would tell management to change is to emphasize the importance of a company culture where employees treat interns the same as one of their own.

    Chinese American Service League2016-04-30
Found 23 reviews