Chipotle Line Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Chipotle Line Worker Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Chipotle CEO Brian Niccol (no image)
Brian Niccol
5 Ratings
  1. "Don't work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Worker in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chipotle

    Pros

    Free meal with every shift and 50% off when not working.

    Cons

    Poor management, sometimes don't get paid on time, schedules don't go up in a timely manner, stressful environment.

    Chipotle2015-09-21
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Worker in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great atmosphere free food while working.

    Cons

    you either start in front of house or back of house and i was in front of house

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-08-03
  3. "Line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Personally speaking: The food was the best aspect of this job! :) ...the benefits are nice too, if you actually are able to enroll in them. However, I know a lot of people enjoy how easy it is to move up within the company.

    Cons

    Everything! I had no background in food/food services, and I shared this information with them. And I feel I did not received proper training. (The person who taught me to fry chips, was fired a few days after I began, for doing things incorrectly. And no one cared enough to reteach me). The crew/managers constantly talked about one another, and I felt there was an extreme lack of communication between management to management and management to crew. I was so dissatisfied with the experience I decided to quit and right after my shift, I was let go for time expectations. I feel the work is too demanding for such little pay, and theres no real job security. (I was let go without any warning/write ups/coaching/etc). Ps... I am not the only person to feel this way. Many other crew members, who had recently started around the time I started, had quit and/or gotten fired.

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-09-04
  4. "Great place for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Worker in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at Chipotle

    Pros

    Free meals when working, great work atmosphere, easy to move up

    Cons

    Chipotle has a revolving door in more urban areas, it never ends...

    Chipotle2015-05-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Chipotle company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Worker in Suffolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle

    Pros

    great company there are a lot of opportunities to grow within the company and the team environment it very good.

    Cons

    a fast pace work environment

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-03-10
  6. "Line Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Worker in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good ethics, free food, better pay than other fast food places, feel empowered to make informed decisions. Learned how to roll burritos for life.

    Cons

    Most people do not work full time, managers are often are stingy about clocking in and out. Many immature workers and high turn over rate.

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-02-20
  7. "Former line worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Worker in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    systemic outline of duties, overall easy

    Cons

    when slow, management typically send home extra help to save money.

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-02-28
  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Worker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle

    Pros

    managers genuinely seem to care about you. the staff is friendly and accommodable, and if you're a hard worker you'll fit right in. You can learn most positions rapidly and there is great potential for upward mobility.

    Cons

    it's a fast paced position, and if you're not up to quick and efficient service this may not be the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-02-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Way too much to go through for $9 an hour."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Worker in Plainfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Free food before or after work (if you're not closing) -Discount when not working was decent (but only is at the location you work at) That's about it. There was not a single thing that was good about working at this company.

    Cons

    Well, I was excited to start working for this company, since they did put me through five interviews-- All of which I had to call and bother them to give me another one. They say they would call and never did. That should have been the warning sign that I should have just not have bothered to get a job at Chipotle. -If you don't speak Spanish, good luck trying to get along with your co-workers. -Given breaks way too early, not when really needed. -Constantly ridiculed if you don't know the correct procedures and policies on your second day of training. -Very hard to get into the cult-like group of people you work with. -Not allowed to move during certain hours, even if you were just stepping foot away from your workplace to pick up something you saw fall. -Managers don't care if they are biased in terms of race. It seemed to be everyone who was of Hispanic decent was favored over the people who weren't. -No one cares if you have a personal life outside of work, they expect you to make Chipotle your life. You get called in on your days off, forced to stay past scheduled shift times, and yelled at if you even clock in a minute too early. There is so much more I could say, but yeah. I was "let go" after only two weeks because I "didn't adhere or understand Chipotle's culture enough to appropriately live up to a top performers standards." I was there for two weeks. TWO. I was told by numerous co-workers that I was doing a great job and they thought I was a fast and reliable person. Honestly, they just hired like five new people before they fired me, and all of them were Hispanic, and I feel like I was discriminated against because I was white. I saw two other people get fired (during the whole two weeks working there) get fired, and both were white.

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fast-paced, stressful, long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Line Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chipotle for less than a year

    Pros

    -Pay is relatively decent -Managers will have sit-downs with you to check up on how you're doing -People who care about the company and it's mission. -Tips, they add up quickly and will likely pay for your gas that week. -Free food (while in the restaurant working), 50% off when not working -You will get raises and promotions if you work hard, but I mean hard. You need to get trained in the back in order to be promoted, so if you work only on the line this may be difficult. -Health care plan allowed immediately upon being hired

    Cons

    -Hectic work environment breeds for snappy and stressed coworkers -Very difficult to hear over glass sneeze guard, you won't be able to converse with customers frequently as you would in retail or other jobs -Not enough pay for the amount of work required, easily 3x the workload compared to retail -It's difficult to call in to work, you will have to find someone to cover by yourself no matter how sick you are. -Smokey adobo on grill will make it difficult to breath -If you work 5 hour shifts, you will not receive a break. -During peak hours i.e. 5-7 PM you will not be able to move away from your position at all. -Cons outweigh the pros

    Continue reading
    Chipotle2015-01-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 66 reviews