Chipotle Prep Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

Chipotle Prep Cook Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Chipotle CEO Brian Niccol (no image)
Brian Niccol
9 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep Cook in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team work Good work ethic Fun outgoing people

    Cons

    Some crew members need to improved work ethic

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    Chipotle2019-10-01
  2. "Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep Cook in Corvallis, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a very friendly work environment and we all have built close relationships. They pay above minimum and if you do well as a store, you can receive bonuses.

    Cons

    The management has been subpar, but they have been trying to resolve issues.

    Chipotle2019-11-11
  3. "must move with urgency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free food, ok pay better than most fast food but you will move fast

    Cons

    rushed constantly, but so many rules to follow many will break those rules just to be the fastest! every houryou must wash your hands a buzzer goes off even if you just washed them 2 seconds ago. As prep i was told to unlearn things about knife skills just to move faster. everything is timed and we all go on break at the same time so if your moving slow its cutting into break people will be mad.

    Advice to Management

    its out of your hands more upper management should realize some of their requirments are ridiculous youd never catch them doing it

    Chipotle2019-10-21
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours if you are quick.

    Cons

    Can be stressful when time management doesn’t work and when busy.

    Chipotle2019-10-04
  5. "Unnecessary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, good work life balance

    Cons

    Unrealistic time expectations prepping food

    Advice to Management

    Allow more time during non-peak hours

    Chipotle2019-08-22
  6. "Good Company to Start At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook in Seal Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company to start at while going to school; they help pay for college on some occasions (if you apply), the part that really made the job for me was the people (who became best friends of mine), responsibilities were easy, fast work flow and shifts went by quickly, gave you enough hours because people were always calling out (and overtime)

    Cons

    small raises each year, repetitive tasks

    Chipotle2019-07-26
  7. "Okay for college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier, Server, Kitchen Help, Prep Cook 

    I worked at Chipotle part-time

    Pros

    Free chipotle, made great friends

    Cons

    Sometimes closing and having to open the next morning, bad pay for hard work

    Chipotle2019-08-01
  8. "Tedious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Prep Cook 

    I worked at Chipotle part-time

    Pros

    Reasonable Hours. Always doing something. One free meal a shift.

    Cons

    Boring and Tedious. Racist Management. Preferred treatment for some staff members

    Chipotle2019-08-01
  9. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees and managers make work fun. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    If you do your work, and take a little bit of initiative, you won't have any issues.

    Chipotle2019-07-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not great, but free meals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free meal with shift (at my location anyways).

    Cons

    Managers can come and go. Employees have to push surveys on customers that only Management gets bonus for. The health check system put in place to make sure employees don't come to work sick depends on a Manager or Supervisor reporting illness. So, it is very easy to ignore if you have an unwise Manager, and you will have to work sick (which is ridiculously unsafe for customers).

    Chipotle2019-07-09
Found 56 reviews