Chiquita Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Chiquita Brands Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
56%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Chiquita Brands President Carlos Lopez Flores
Carlos Lopez Flores
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free bananas, fun work events, I could go on and on(in 13 reviews)

  • "decent pay, good work/life balance, coworkers easy to work with, nice office environment(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is lacking leadership and guidance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Cost-cutting measures are ruthless and it's impossible to maintain work-life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yard Driver in Port Everglades, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chiquita Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of overtime and room to learn other equipment to handle. Great benefits..

    Cons

    None ,nothing that I can think of . Maybe the yard diver does the most work, but that doesn’t matter because your pay good and on time. Yard diver and Top loader play a bug roll in the yard.

    Chiquita Brands2018-08-04
  2. "company atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Dispatchcer 

    I worked at Chiquita Brands full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great coworkers and customers at the job

    Cons

    managers came and went quite often

    Chiquita Brands2020-01-23
  3. "Privately ran company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Port Operation 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chiquita Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to meet a lot of different backgrounds from different countries.

    Cons

    Company has no mission statement that works and its head is on a swivel. Company is trying to do things too cheaply and the employees are suffering the most.

    Chiquita Brands2020-01-16
  4. "Very toxic environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chiquita Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great brand legacy with a business impact around the world

    Cons

    Since the acquisition, it has become a very toxic environment to work. Little opportunity to develop as professional compared to how it used to be. There is a disparity in how people are compensated and treated for their contributions

    Chiquita Brands2020-01-09
  5. "Manage all port operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chiquita Brands full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Company stands behind employees. Looking for employees devoted to the success of Chiquita

    Cons

    Work and home life are not in balance

    Continue reading
    Chiquita Brands2019-10-01
  6. "Wonderful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chiquita Brands full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, great work experience, educational

    Cons

    Drama, stress tolerance, multi task

    Chiquita Brands2018-05-22
  7. "Amazing Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chiquita Brands full-time

    Pros

    Very active and fulfilling experience

    Cons

    Lack of Communication between management and staff

    Chiquita Brands2018-05-23
  8. "Logistics Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chiquita Brands full-time

    Pros

    Was promoted in less than a year.

    Cons

    Overtime work hours was common.

    Chiquita Brands2018-04-09
  9. "It was a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Logistics Managemet in Salinas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chiquita Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the best leadership and experience of my career

    Cons

    A large percentage of our management team actually left in 2012, when senior leadership changed and required relocation.

    Continue reading
    Chiquita Brands2018-02-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chiquita Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Product Great People Fun Branding e.g., Miss Chiquita, Blue Sticker Product Discounts Fun Consumer Campaigns

    Cons

    Buy out had a negative impact on the company’s culture. The merger resulted in hundreds of layoffs globally and US office closures. Cost-cutting measures are ruthless and it's impossible to maintain work-life balance. Owners don’t truly respect or care about their employees. They only care about making money off of them.

    Continue reading
    Chiquita Brands2018-02-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 149 reviews