Choice Hotels Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

Choice Hotels Director Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Ijamsville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Executive Leadership is strong. The CEO is funny, personable, approachable and yet smart and a great overall leader. Culture at work is also very good and people are incredibly friendly.

    Cons

    Upward mobility can be difficult in certain areas of the company.

    Choice Hotels2016-06-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Lack of empathy and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary for Phoenix. Reputable company with larger budgets and overall resources.

    Cons

    Sr. Leadership shows no regard for the welfare of its associates by retaining executives who create a fear-based culture. No momentum in culture because the company cannot keep its talent and shows no serious steps towards rectifying it.

    Advice to Management

    I'd recommend the CEO take a hard look at whether his executive team are living up to the values and culture he so clearly wants to create.

    Choice Hotels2019-07-19
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Executive leadership can't figure out the problem because they refuse to believe that they're the problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Some smart people that really want to succeed.

    Cons

    Executive leadership plays on like the band on the Titanic as if all is well, while everyone runs for the life boats. For those left behind, their fate is equally cold and dark. Marketing and Distribution is a disaster, run by authoritarian rule at the C-suite level and is always in search of the shiny new thing. New ideas that aren't in line with the C-suite's thoughts are immediately and brutally crushed. As others...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mr. Pacious, at some point, you need to honestly address the root cause of these issues in M&D.

    Choice Hotels2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Sales is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office, good amenities and some really smart people who want to do well.

    Cons

    Sales is a mess. There have been 5 heads of sales in the past 6 years ranging from ineffectual to raging lunatics. This effects all levels from marketing to distribution to digital.

    Advice to Management

    Find a head of sales that you can stick with for over a year, the constant turnover is self defeating.

    Choice Hotels2019-06-05
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location, good benefits, friendly culture

    Cons

    There could be more vertical movement within the company.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend giving some of tax cuts back to the employees.

    Choice Hotels2019-04-30

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 8, 2019

    Thank you for leaving your review of life at Choice. We’re proud of our benefits and culture, and are glad you are as well. We will share your feedback with Human Resources.

  6. "A great company to grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are willing to learn they are willing to teach you. Very open to new ideas and trying different ways of thinking.

    Cons

    I see that some employees get stuck in a position and they just need more direction on what areas in the company they need to be looking into to move on and upward.

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of the front line team members that work directly with our clients and always remember it is about the relationships. The company does a good job with this and that is why I think it does so well.

    Choice Hotels2019-02-21
  7. Helpful (9)

    "This company's hiring policies are unethical and inconsistent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I can't think of any.

    Cons

    HR team is unethical and inconsistent.

    Advice to Management

    Conduct an audit of the HR team.

    Choice Hotels2018-06-01
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting industry. A lot of good people. Those at the director and above level can make a ton of money through stock options - if you aren't getting stock options this place isn't worth it. VP who ran my department never stayed past 5pm so work-life balance is great.

    Cons

    Layoffs were common and done with no rhyme or reason - company should have a longer-term perspective given the family that controls half its stock isn't sweating quarterly performance. Big-time favoritism in certain departments.

    Advice to Management

    Get some new blood.

    Choice Hotels2018-02-27
  9. "DFS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Franchise Development in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meet new people and help them realize their dream of being a hotel owner

    Cons

    Very “closed door” operation, sales is not involved in the quota process

    Advice to Management

    Engage your salesforce in decisions relating to brands, growth and synergy of multi departments

    Choice Hotels2018-01-04

    Choice Hotels Response

    January 11, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We value your thoughts and will share your perspective with the appropriate executive leadership.

  10. Helpful (11)

    "Not Worth It - Age Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Convenient location, Nice offices, benefits ok

    Cons

    Management lies to it's employees. The last employee survey was so bad that they did not share the results with employees. I can see that HR has been forced to add 5 star reviews to try and improve recruitment. Don't fall for it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop ignoring the lack of leadership and bully approach to leadership. Leverage multiple subject matter experts, not just one who tells you what you want to hear. FYI Age discrimination is a real thing.

    Choice Hotels2017-11-27

    Choice Hotels Response

    December 5, 2017

    Thank you for submitting your thoughts. We take your feedback seriously and will share your employment experience with leadership. We take discrimination seriously. If it happened to you or you witnessed it, please contact us and provide us details. You can use the confidential and ...

    Show More
Found 30 reviews