Choice Hotels Front Desk Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Front Desk Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
0 Ratings
  1. "Great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate in Leeds, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management allows you to set your own routine for most part very friendly and clean

    Cons

    Not enough hours, and other employees tend to know it all

    Advice to Management

    Please just have one boss rather than 3 or more

    Choice Hotels2016-08-01

    Choice Hotels Response

    August 16, 2016

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  2. "Not really worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate in Fremont, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels

    Pros

    Discount rooms, can use fitness room and pool and experience

    Cons

    Benefits only applys for full-time associates and managers, No maternity leave, no paid anything and no hoiday pay. Have to have a Doctors note with how long you can take off. No paid vacation or paid sick days. Hours are not flexible. Not worth it if you have a family to provide for, unless you're a higher up.

    Advice to Management

    benefits should apply to all employees after 90 days.

    Choice Hotels2015-12-20
  3. "It was good experience as a college student. I would not recommend it as a career choice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in New Paltz, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to work with people and provide excellent customer service.

    Cons

    Having to deal with an ignorant manager that made working there uncomfortable.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your customers and fellow employees. There suggestions might be really good as a means of benefiting your bottom dollar.

    Choice Hotels2015-10-02
  4. "ask around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels for more than 8 years

    Pros

    choice hotels is a great company to work for, just pay attention to its affiliates

    Cons

    you have to pay attention to your specific employer if you are working for an affiliated hotel. some hotels do abide by the standards set by choice but there are alot of hotel that do what they can to get through the inspections but then do nothing that they are required to do to be a choice hotel.

    Advice to Management

    do more surprise inspections or secret shopper stays to make sure that the choice name is not being torn down by people who aren't doing what they are supposed to do to use the choice name.

    Choice Hotels2015-06-05
  5. "I'm sure depending on which choice hotel, and which private franchise owner you work for, the experience you have varies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can do my personal duties on pc while not active doing work on the job, at the front desk area. Great for going to college, getting paid while doing work and able to do some homework. Hotel group discounts for self, family, this is pretty awesome.

    Cons

    no insurance at my location poor scheduling at my location, even though i was able to attend school while working here. boring half the time, working weekends, covering others shifts, and sleeping at the hotel to work 2nd then 1st shift while the boss roams around town and does not want to hire the proper amount of employees or schedule properly never wanting to give a real promotion or raise in pay because he is the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they are worth or find another way to reward them like time off, better scheduling. Don't be a small business crook, I actually have bills to pay just like everyone else.

    Choice Hotels2015-03-08
  6. "Good work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate in South Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management stood by the employees, relatively easy work, good coworkers.

    Cons

    Weird hours (7am-3pm or 3pm-11pm shifts), little room for advancement, having to deal with crazy visitors. For example, I had occasional visits from police to address problems with the guests, people could be very degrading from time to time, and there were occasional interactions with heavy drug users and other types of crime. But now you know to expect this coming into the job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Choice Hotels2014-04-05
Found 6 reviews