Choice Hotels Front Desk Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Front Desk Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
0 Ratings
  1. "Front Desk Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Bay City, TX

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you meet will have the greatest impact on your life!

    Cons

    Although you gain another family with guests, sometimes you lose time with your own family.

    Advice to Management

    Make time for yourself, nobody else will.

    Choice Hotels2018-06-08

    Choice Hotels Response

    July 23, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  2. "front desk manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Cameron, MO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The guests the hours and some of the staff

    Cons

    The management. No benefits. No paid holidays, no vacation pay, no incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better. Communication is a key part for a business to be run properly. Not management belittling staff members in front of other employees and guests.

    Choice Hotels2018-07-02

    Choice Hotels Response

    July 23, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The best place I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Perrysburg, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been with the company for about a month, but my coworkers are extremely friendly and have trained me well since the beginning!

    Cons

    A couple cons that I have with this job are the pay and lack of benefits besides the employee discount at their hotels. The only other would be the inconsistent schedule, but it's nothing I haven't done before so it doesn't really bother me.

    Choice Hotels2017-11-23

    Choice Hotels Response

    December 4, 2017Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  4. "ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Johnson City, TN

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice place to work, very nice people, nice work enviroment

    Cons

    you dont get paid to train, you dont get paid for the first 15 minutes of your shift or the last 15 minutes. hotel needs upgraded therefore we receive a lot of guest complaints.

    Advice to Management

    put some money into your property

    Choice Hotels2016-10-26

    Choice Hotels Response

    November 14, 2016Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  5. "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Scott, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    As for the corporate, they are always willing to help and do not give up until the problem is solved.

    Cons

    As for each individual hotel, the owners are becoming very greedy. Rather than do what is best for customers, they are cutting corners and doing everything to save their penny and the regulars are noticing.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to place in requirements that hotels need to follow for guests satisfaction.

    Choice Hotels2016-08-13

    Choice Hotels Response

    August 16, 2016

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  6. "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic Co workers, excellent upper management, great discounts and benefits.

    Cons

    Mid level management gets away with terrible work and follow through.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together.

    Choice Hotels2016-02-21
  7. "Review is for J&Co - Major network of motels in Seaside Heights, NJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Seaside Heights, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good for building customer service skills, year round employment. Maybe good for students in wintertime, flexible schedule, extended unpaid leave in off season available. Discounted employee room rate at affiliated hotel chains.

    Cons

    12 hour shifts, no overtime pay, no night shift pay, no raises, no benefits, no holiday/ summer season bonuses, no paid leave.

    Advice to Management

    When you purchase all the properties you are planing on purchasing, and accomplish all the rest of your plans, you should start providing some kind of benefits at least.

    Choice Hotels2016-03-04
  8. "GREAT OPPORTUNITIES-LOW PAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can always excel in this business. They send you to paid conventions and there are special rates for friends and family for being an employee.

    Cons

    Not a full service hotel. Front desk is responsible for room service. Almost impossible, but it's not. Also, FDCs should get paid more.

    Advice to Management

    HOLD EVERYONE ACCOUNTABLE AND MAKE SURE ALL EMPLOYEES GET PROPER TRAINING FROM CHOICE UNIVERSITY.

    Choice Hotels2015-09-05
  9. "Dependent on property"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Oak Creek, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels

    Pros

    Have worked with some amazing managers/owners. but as every property is independent it could vary wildly

    Cons

    possible to have bad ownership

    Choice Hotels2015-08-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Choicehotel! Take a close look at your franchisee..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Manager in Catonsville, MD

    I worked at Choice Hotels for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, Get to meet people from all over the world, get to stay at any choice property for at least $35.00 per night

    Cons

    Choice hotels are mostly franchises so there are no benefits....such as healthcare, low salary, this, lack of investment and empowerment of staff

    Advice to Management

    Management need to invest in employees to avoid rapid turn overs. Pay your committed employees who bend backward for you. Stop kicking them in the gut! Empower you employees to do their jobs. Choice is an awesome brand but some franchisee and there poor management style is what hampering this corporation.

    Choice Hotels2015-06-24
Found 12 reviews