Choice Hotels Reviews in Phoenix, AZ | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Phoenix Reviews

Updated August 31, 2017
60 reviews

Filter

Filter

Phoenix, AZ Area

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
0 Ratings

60 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No benefits unless you are management (in 20 reviews)

  • work/life balance is a little tough (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Agile and self-aware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Technology Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The leadership is smart, and not afraid of change. They are aware of what makes the team happy and keeps them ticking, and is not afraid to award them of that.

    Cons

    PTO policy is a little wonky. They still live by the old school mentality, of a bucket for sick days, a bucket for personal time, and PTO bucket, and you cant call upon different buckets if you are out of one, which is antiquated; time off should just be a bucket to spend however the employee see's fit.

    Advice to Management

    Change the PTO policy.


  2. "Got purple hair? Got tattoos? No degree? Don't care about work/life balance? Come on down to Choice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hotel discount. Management provides many opportunities to learn about different areas in the company. Wide variety of employee resource groups to help you navigate your career.

    Cons

    Management that doesn't live the values. Some people are just dicks. Pay that isn't always on par with similar organizations.

    Advice to Management

    Stop overworking your employees. Showing a video about Work/Life balance or emailing your staff an anecdote about WL Balance, does NOT mean your doing something about it.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Aug 28, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. At Choice we go to great lengths to embrace diversity and inclusion, and we are particularly proud of our numerous employee resources groups that you have mentioned. They... More

  3. "Treat like Faimily Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Care for employee.
    Free Freedom for new implementation and Great Challenges
    Transparency
    Great HR
    Lots of vacations

    Cons

    nothing i can think of.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your review! We’re glad you enjoy working for Choice and find our tech environment in Phoenix so invigorating. We’re happy to hear our efforts to create a collaborative, supportive work... More


  4. "House keeping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Mesa, AZ
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Close to home and easy to get to

    Cons

    Not a good place to work unless you speak Spanish.

    Advice to Management

    Need more people that has dual language

    Choice Hotels Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchisedunder... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Politics and Favortism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Few employees are good , honest and helpful

    Cons

    Manager plays extreme politics and favoritism to those who say YES ma'am attitude, irrespective however you are talented and work for the betterment of organization

    Advice to Management

    Please be aware of such Managers and take corrective action before many talented and honest employees leave making it another Titanic

    Choice Hotels Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. In an effort to drive positive business outcomes, our Talent Management team works to provide comprehensive managerial leadership support. We... More


  6. "Choice created a nice physical environment. The business and IT groups were committed to improving working processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Committed to delivering upon strategic vision both in budget and in organization​al change

    Cons

    Struggled at times with legacy culture driven people in mid-management roles who were not aligned with the new direction

    Choice Hotels Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. Choice is dedicated to our strategic vision and are continuously looking at improving.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Employee rates for hotel stays

    Cons

    No year end or performance bonus

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 3, 2017

    Thank you for your positive review! We are glad you enjoy your hotel discounts. Although some positions at Choice do not offer a year end performance bonus, we do offer performance incentive pay... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Ok for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good technologies to work on, Company invested a lot in new platform, so there is a lot of good opportunities to learn.
    Company celebrates small achievements so its fun to work and enjoy. Normally good work life balance until unless you are under some critical project.
    Free soft drinks.
    New Idea's and innovation is encouraged by higher management.
    Sr. Management is nice and very friendly , You will get to work few nice and talented colleagues too.

    Cons

    Medical insurance is having only one high deductible plan.

    Certain Directors/Sr. Manger prefer employees of certain race or community , in front of me all the recruitment happen in last 1 year under one director are from certain language or race (Except one or 2 cases) , Which is killing the organization environment and culture you can see all over the floor people are talking in a certain language and other people who don;t understand that language sounds stupid ( No offence to any language , but we should talk in a professional manner so that everyone can understand).
     Even technical discussions happen in same language so if you are from different language background or English background you will loose the context. Most of the tech leads (Except me or few more) are from same background and they keep encouraging this culture and keep talking in team meeting in same language, which only those people understand.

    If you are a contractor coming from same language background certainly you will be hired full time soon , so join fearlessly, but if you are from different language then there are less chances of you lasting more than couple of months.

    If Management can retain good talented people , certainly it is a good company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an eye on your Directors or Sr. Managers that how they are building their team with their own people totally based on relations.


  9. Helpful (14)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I started during the hiring boom in 2015 and the first year was great! Promoted with a sizable salary increase after four months. My manager for the first year was knowledgable, personable and was great at keeping his three teams engaged and aware. My direct leadership now is really in a tough spot between trying to keep the team pacified while upper leadership communicating that everyone is a commodity. It's unfortunate that a lot of very talented and respected technologists have left the company.

    Cons

    A year in, around July 2016, the rate of people leaving the company voluntarily or involuntarily exploded! Three managers terminated and another left within three weeks. Directors the same ... Some ex-American Express employees have imported the toxicity of that environment. Gross favoritism in the fact that unqualified pets from leadership's "last" company brought in. Attrition in the run organization to the tune of almost 10% in the first quarter alone! When there is an all team meeting with 100+ people in attendance and a director outlines leadership's goals for the year include defining succession plans for everyone. I read this bullet before it was addressed and figured for sure it was a typo and meant success. Nope! So leadership is going to address low morale and 10% attrition by communicating, with sending the message that you're temporary.

    Advice to Management

    Run, don't walk and gut that IT "Leadership" Team in Phoenix! Mr. Herwig that was brought in recently comes from a structured environment and I believe he's equipped to re-org the teams, stop the pet favoritism, ensure that applicants are vetted by their prospective peers before offers are extended. Until you rid Phoenix of the toxic cancerous leadership, the exodus is going to continue en masse.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for leaving this review. Choice utilizes succession planning to identify future leaders in the company. We feel it is important to identify employees who have the skills that can help them... More


  10. Helpful (4)

    ""DO NOT WORK HERE"`"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    WOW Discount on hotels for employees that is if you can get them.

    Cons

    Long Hours,No Work Life Balance!

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Management? how about Advise to Todd Davis to look at and train your Management Excellent Talent leaving the building and walking across the street to work at Republic Services!!!!!!!.

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 3, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We make every effort to get a pulse on how our people feel, particularly about work-life balance, via our tri-annual engagement survey. In recent years, we continue to see... More


Showing 60 of 514 reviews
Reset Filters