Choice Hotels Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 659 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
86 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Opportunities Ahead!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Evolving company with countless opportunities to innovate, with an IT leader preaching for innovative changes. I really enjoy my days working with lots of different personalities. Keep it up!!

    Cons

    IT leadership has been getting bad press for wanting to innovate and evolve the company. There are pockets of individuals resisting, instead of embracing change or offering better alternatives.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting from within and hiring bright talented individuals.

    Choice Hotels2019-03-15

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 8, 2019

    Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your feedback on our innovative environment at our Phoenix technology center as Being Bold is a core value at Choice. We will continue to promote from within – and if you know any bright individuals, friendly reminder to take advantage ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of transparency - no real career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hospitality is a nice industry to be in. People are nice and friendly.

    Cons

    You will not be able to grow in this company without knowing the right people, at the right time. I have seen so many talented and dedicated people stuck at some level, making their 3rd-4th lateral move in their 7-8th year (eventually, they give up and move on), while some others can climb the career ladder in 3 years. More often than not, positions get filled without being announced. While I understand that the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent. Give the same opportunity to everyone in your organization, not only the people you know and favor.

    Choice Hotels2019-08-18
  3. "Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Saint George, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management system to work with

    Cons

    Escalation at times can be frustrating

    Choice Hotels2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Culture of “Do What I Say”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Great people outside of leadership

    Cons

    Loyalty is to shareholders and Wall Street. Don’t care about associates or franchisees. Expectation is that you will work 24/7. Don’t respect people’s opinions. Want people to shut up, listen and do what they are told. Tout a culture of diversity and inclusion yet most senior leaders are men.

    Choice Hotels2019-08-22
  5. "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    lovely working and pleasunt atmosphere

    Cons

    extra work and more hours

    Advice to Management

    need additional for extra work

    Choice Hotels2019-07-10
  6. "I absolutely love all my guests"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Choice Hotels

    Pros

    Best reasons to work here is you get to meet people from all over the world

    Cons

    The GM and Owner are very unorganized, we never have the supplies we need to adequately run the hotel. Numerous problems within the hotel. Mold all over kitchen walls, leaks every where, air conditioners not working in multiple rooms.

    Advice to Management

    They are only there to get a paycheck. They do not care about anything or anyone

    Choice Hotels2019-07-21
  7. "not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels part-time

    Pros

    like it , really nice people

    Cons

    there is a lot that they can change

    Choice Hotels2019-07-20
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, culture, forward thinking, SCRUM development

    Cons

    Slim budget for remote workers

    Choice Hotels2019-07-02
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Lack of empathy and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary for Phoenix. Reputable company with larger budgets and overall resources.

    Cons

    Sr. Leadership shows no regard for the welfare of its associates by retaining executives who create a fear-based culture. No momentum in culture because the company cannot keep its talent and shows no serious steps towards rectifying it.

    Advice to Management

    I'd recommend the CEO take a hard look at whether his executive team are living up to the values and culture he so clearly wants to create.

    Choice Hotels2019-07-19
  10. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, supportive staff, and management.

    Cons

    Cons were very few. If I had to pick one out, I did feel that the interns were often under guided and utilized, and were left with idle time without direction at some points.

    Choice Hotels2019-06-14
Found 659 reviews