Choice Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 632 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
82 Ratings
  1. "Decent job but doesn't pay well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Junction City, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time off, and great opportunity to meet new and interesting people.

    Cons

    Low pay not enough ownership concern for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be more attentive and thoughtful for good employees.

    Choice Hotels2019-03-20

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 8, 2019

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Decent but terrible benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours depending on manager; Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Medical benefits are terrible - the worst; Some managers are promoted even though they do little work; Under compensated for role

    Advice to Management

    Provide medical options to employees instead of a one-size fits all plan.

    Choice Hotels2019-02-22
  3. "Front desk/ management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Choice Hotels

    Pros

    Love people Love being busy Love making money for my boss.

    Cons

    People not being kind to each other

    Advice to Management

    Be available to your staff Listen to them

    Choice Hotels2019-02-21

    Choice Hotels Response

    May 8, 2019

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  4. "A great company to grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are willing to learn they are willing to teach you. Very open to new ideas and trying different ways of thinking.

    Cons

    I see that some employees get stuck in a position and they just need more direction on what areas in the company they need to be looking into to move on and upward.

    Advice to Management

    Keep taking care of the front line team members that work directly with our clients and always remember it is about the relationships. The company does a good job with this and that is why I think it does so well.

    Choice Hotels2019-02-21
  5. "General Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Manager in Charleston, SC

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of daily task and flexibility

    Cons

    Hiring invested employee and 24/7

    Choice Hotels2019-01-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Department 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is amazing, they tend to hire a lot of friends and family, and a lot of flexibility (depending on department).

    Cons

    Pay, almost everyone is underpaid, most employment engagement surveys reflect that. Hotel incentives aren’t that great, you do get a discount but most of the time the better discounts geared to lower end hotels.

    Choice Hotels2019-01-29
  7. "General Manager No Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Cleveland, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am a general manager for the last 3 years. Was an assistant general manager for 2 years prior. I feel as I am stuck as a GM and have so much more to offer. I wish to have more advancement but with this company I will never advance as there is not a position to advance to. Would love to become a QAR or area director or area manager to help with other Choice properties.

    Cons

    Same as above mentioned comment

    Choice Hotels2019-01-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Clearly not a Hospitality Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive benefits package for employees

    Cons

    Clueless organization in terms of long term relationships

    Advice to Management

    Nurture relationships with strong owner - operators and stop penalty / fine mentality

    Choice Hotels2019-01-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management will work with you if you have blockages in your life. Friendly environment.

    Cons

    Total chaos from ownership down to Management. No one trained for overnight shifts except for 1 person. After Auditors were fired left 1 person working overnights for a full week with no relief. Felt like a slave that was not allowed to say no EVER!

    Advice to Management

    Make better executive decisions and think about the people you will be affecting before making the decision. The people that work under you are not your slaves.

    Choice Hotels2019-01-21
  10. "Expect a lot of customer interaction daily!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, some flexibility in scheduling, meeting interesting new faces and seeing great regular customers.

    Cons

    Your attitude will set your day and be reflected back at you by clients. Can be challenging to help them in accordance to company guidelines.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to both employees and clients more.

    Choice Hotels2019-01-21
Found 632 reviews