Choice Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 660 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
86 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Clearly not a Hospitality Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive benefits package for employees

    Cons

    Clueless organization in terms of long term relationships

    Advice to Management

    Nurture relationships with strong owner - operators and stop penalty / fine mentality

    Choice Hotels2019-01-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management will work with you if you have blockages in your life. Friendly environment.

    Cons

    Total chaos from ownership down to Management. No one trained for overnight shifts except for 1 person. After Auditors were fired left 1 person working overnights for a full week with no relief. Felt like a slave that was not allowed to say no EVER!

    Advice to Management

    Make better executive decisions and think about the people you will be affecting before making the decision. The people that work under you are not your slaves.

    Choice Hotels2019-01-21
  3. "Expect a lot of customer interaction daily!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, some flexibility in scheduling, meeting interesting new faces and seeing great regular customers.

    Cons

    Your attitude will set your day and be reflected back at you by clients. Can be challenging to help them in accordance to company guidelines.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to both employees and clients more.

    Choice Hotels2019-01-21
  4. "Lead Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead - Testing in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place to work for & Good cultural value

    Cons

    For contractors no benefits, No VISA sponsorship provided

    Choice Hotels2019-01-03
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great time off, good benefits.

    Cons

    Increasing amount of budget cuts on a lot of the fringe benefits could be a bad sign for future outlooks. Slow to adjust to market value for employees. Multiple employee surveys have indicated people are not happy and would leave for same pay at another company, nothing has seemed to improve that.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on what makes employees want to stay. Cultivate and compensate the employees, the excuse of HR going through turmoil only lasts so long before people start jumping ship (and they have been in case you have not noticed).

    Choice Hotels2018-12-27
  6. "General Manager of hotel operations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Guest interactions. Travel discounts.

    Cons

    Open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

    Choice Hotels2018-12-16
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Culture of Respect, learning and growth.

    Cons

    Some incompetent people; but they can improve

    Advice to Management

    Keep the good work on

    Choice Hotels2018-12-03
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None - it used to be great. Now it is terrible.

    Cons

    Micro managers, ridiculous workload expectations and no appreciation for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up. Your employees are what makes you successful!

    Choice Hotels2018-12-31
  9. "Awesome place to work, great people and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company working at the cutting edge of technology

    Cons

    medical insurance could be better

    Choice Hotels2018-11-28
  10. "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are the best I've had so far in my career.

    Cons

    There are no cons, I moved on because I wanted to grow more.

    Choice Hotels2018-11-22
Found 660 reviews