Choice Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated April 27, 2017
441 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

441 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • No benefits unless you are management (in 19 reviews)

  • Work/life balance for some can be a bit tough which all companies seem to have (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "ok place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Johnson City, TN
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Johnson City, TN

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    nice place to work, very nice people, nice work enviroment

    Cons

    you dont get paid to train, you dont get paid for the first 15 minutes of your shift or the last 15 minutes. hotel needs upgraded therefore we receive a lot of guest complaints.

    Advice to Management

    put some money into your property

    Choice Hotels Response

    Nov 14, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised ... More


  2. "Housekeeper"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Lake Charles, LA
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Lake Charles, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This job is pretty much good for a person that is just starting ou like an 18yr old . No career tho.

    Cons

    Messy no communication horrible management bed bugs no proper ppe . Bad working conditions. Indian ran hotel. The Indians live there

    Advice to Management

    Hotel should not be opened, needs improving new equipment and materials . Better ownership. Remove the mold work on drugs and etc. Problem

    Choice Hotels Response

    Nov 14, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised ... More


  3. Helpful (11)

    "Corporate meat grinder"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive pay. If you are lucky enough to get in with a good manager or director, it can be a decent place to work.

    Cons

    Over the last few years many long time employees have left the company due to bad business decisions made by entrenched senior level executives. Everyone from manager level down changes out every 1-2 years now while the same bad senior executives are still there with and likely will be forever. Nepotism is rampant in upper levels. The projects the company has taken on are worthwhile but in general the current employees lack hotel industry knowledge and will likely have a hard time being successful in the coming future.

    Advice to Management

    Take a hard look at your upper management. When you have an executive who has had 30 people under them quit after staying for less than 2 years something is wrong with that person, not the people who quit. Start caring about the the franchisees more and less about MBOs. Value the advice of people who actually do stick it out and stay for more than 2 years, they actually care and want to help even if you don't want to listen. Proprietary knowledge is a thing, start caring about it and stop letting it walk out the door.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to hear you enjoy our benefits and pay. That said, we’re also taking your other feedback and insights seriously. We will share your review with our HR team and ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (9)

    "Don't be fooled, Not worth it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Rockville, MD
    Current Employee - Director in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Location is great, offices are modern and most people are nice. Company has recently implemented better benefits to stem the exits and very negative employee engagement scores.

    Cons

    Leadership is awful. VP and C level are just fooling themselves and others into thinking their good at their job and they really do not care about their people.

    Advice to Management

    You can not fake it anymore

    Choice Hotels Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it, and will share your review with our HR team and leadership.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Randolph, MA
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Randolph, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of online training videos, discount on rooms for friends, family and yourself.

    Cons

    Bad pay, poor communication, always short staffed, health insurance is way to expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with more respect.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Nov 14, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised ... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "NO LEADERSHIP. ALL TALK"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT in Scottsdale, AZ
    Former Employee - IT in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Cheap Hotel rates for employees.

    Cons

    HR is pitiful. IT is lost. They keep cleaning house but the old-time rats know where to hide.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the fluff. Be real. Show some leadership.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy you like our room benefits, but we also take your other feedback seriously. We will share your review with our HR team and leadership.


  8. "Possibilities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are opportunities to learn the hospitality business. They are encouraging for employees to learn about the company and programs.

    Cons

    It is a large company and the corporate officers need to keep an eye on the bottom line...but guests have expectations that the Front Desk staff have to answer for when not provided.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Nov 14, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised ... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "I've NEVER"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist I in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist I in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The Southwest headquarters building in Scottsdale is beautiful and inviting.

    Cons

    I have never been treated so poorly buy a management and directorial team as I had been by this company. I have 20 years experience in customer service as a supervisor and manager. I've dealt with Shady business dealings in the past but the subversion and disrespect I experienced while with this company was like none I had ever seen before.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect, honesty and the transparency upper management brags about and people would be happy. When you realign a department and ensure everyone will retain their position DON'T make everyone reapply and interview, it's stressful, it's not transparent and it's not what you promised.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Dec 7, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your review. We take your feedback seriously and will share your review with our HR team and leadership.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great place to work..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture! Great benefits! A lot of celebrations for various holidays and other events. Cafeteria doubles as a game room!

    Cons

    Some senior management not worth a plug nickel! Things have changed for the worse and many employees have become disillusioned, with some great employees choosing to leave (and some employees you wish WOULD leave!) But overall, most employees are great to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the way things were 2-3 years ago.

    Choice Hotels Response

    Oct 6, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your review. We’re happy to hear you enjoy Choice culture! Thank you for sharing your concerns as well; we will share your thoughts with our HR team and leadership


  11. "great!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Front Desk Agent in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Hotel Front Desk Agent in Denver, CO
    Recommends

    I have been working at Choice Hotels (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great rooms..superior employee discounts. Great service

    Cons

    no lodging provided for out of state employees..

    Advice to Management

    provide housing for employees out of state so that they are not homeless trying to work in a new state

    Choice Hotels Response

    Oct 6, 2016 – Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised ... More


Showing 441 of 455 reviews
Reset Filters