Choice Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 638 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
84 Ratings
  1. "General Observations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    People culture in the Phoenix office is great and there is a lot of opportunity

    Cons

    Too much change - difficult to keep up with the amount of change

    Choice Hotels2018-10-08

    Choice Hotels Response

    October 29, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your review. People are Choice’s most valuable asset and we are pleased to hear that you enjoy our culture in Phoenix. Choice is proud to be a company which embraces growth, and we appreciate your patience as we adapt to change. We value your feedback and will share ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Great Co-workers, Great Boss from which you can learn alot

    Cons

    I loved working there.. Everything is great

    Choice Hotels2018-09-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Software Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Culture, Mid level management(Direct reports)

    Cons

    Upper level IT management, PMO relations with team, Project planning, Low pay

    Choice Hotels2018-09-26

    Choice Hotels Response

    October 29, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy to hear that Choice’s work-life balance has made a positive impression! We value your thoughts and will share them with the Human Resources team.

  4. "Great internship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Great internship. Learned a lot. Shop talks to learn more about the industry and personal branding.

    Cons

    One intern per department.

    Choice Hotels2018-09-21

    Choice Hotels Response

    October 29, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed our internship program! It is always a pleasure to see the business through the unique perspectives of our interns. Thank you, and don’t be shy about applying!

  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Choice Hotels

    Pros

    Great stuff, people are awesome

    Cons

    None, everything is great. Not much to say

    Choice Hotels2018-09-05
  6. "Housekeeping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Ogallala, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great workout, get to work at your own pace as long as time standards are met, easy but hardworking/physical job

    Cons

    Doesn’t pay much, no benefits, can’t get to a higher position

    Advice to Management

    You should pull pay housekeeping more because they are the ones that pretty much run the hotel. If it wasn’t for housekeeping there wouldn’t be any clean rooms for guests. It is a very hardworking job to barely get paid the least amount of money

    Choice Hotels2018-08-21

    Choice Hotels Response

    October 22, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (5)

    "No Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Nice people to work with, able to collaborate with others, nice company’s events. Excellent social groups.

    Cons

    If you are a manager or director you may be able to advance. However, no advancement from Sr.Director to VP. They never promote from within at this level, they always seek external candidates even when there are plenty of qualified people to choose from, should be ashamed.Favortism, cronyism, boys club, rampant here. Be prepared to be stuck in a no advancement position if you are a Sr.Dir., Many departing company... for competitor jobs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have a vast pool of knowledge to draw from, what message does this send to your employees, that is why so many people are leaving.

    Choice Hotels2018-09-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid if you are a developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other departments in Choice seem fine, but the IT area for developers, especially choiceEDGE, is very toxic.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, decisions are ruled by egos, liars run amok, followers get thrown under the bus, projects are approved and then scrapped upon completion. You're going to be in a pit of vipers here, either turn into a venomous snake yourself, or get bit.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on delivering a quality user experience for your guests, and franchisees, stop focusing so hard on profit or being a maverick. Take some time and create realistic plans, and schedules to resuscitate the corporate culture in IT.

    Choice Hotels2018-09-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Compensation Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Great culture: mid-level associates are encouraged to engage with executives through events, coffee, and lunch. Great talent poll: everyone is very intelligent and is willing to work hard and improve themselves. Choice does a great job with hiring the right people.

    Cons

    Comp Package: Choice does not offer stock options and annual bonus to any level below non-people managers. That is very unusual for the hospitality industry. Its nearby competitors (Hilton, Marriott, and even management companies) offer an annual merit-based bonus to salaried employees and the option of buying stocks. While the salary might be competitive, the lack of annual bonus drives many talented people to look... elsewhere. There are several mid-level associates (sr. analysts, PMs, non-people managers) that are unhappy due to lack of promotional opportunities. It's impossible to get promoted since it's a flat-organization and it is very frustrating after 3 lateral moves.

    Show More
    Choice Hotels2018-08-18
  10. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on the location, you might have some good free time that will allow you to focus on your studies if you're a student.

    Cons

    Corporate calls can be frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Enforce the rules a bit more seriously.

    Choice Hotels2018-08-12

    Choice Hotels Response

    October 22, 2018Social Media Coordinator, Recruiting

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your employment experience at one of our franchised hotels. As a franchisor, Choice Hotels International does not own or operate hotels franchised under its brands and the hotel staff are employed by the independent owner of the hotel. ...

    Show More
Found 638 reviews