Choice Hotels "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Choice Hotels Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 638 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Choice Hotels CEO Patrick Pacious
Patrick Pacious
84 Ratings
  1. "Miserable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Agent in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Choice doesn't bother you, except to badger you to sign up guests for Choice Privileges. Employee discounts are ok, nicer properties usually don't offer employee discounts.

    Cons

    Choice Advantage is always down for maintenance, keeping me from checking guests in. No benefits for part time employees.

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-11-05
  2. "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Choice Hotels

    Pros

    Great co workers. The employee discount for hotels are good if you travel much.

    Cons

    No benefits, no raises, no room for growth, total disregard for employee safety (while working night shift), and management doesn't seem to care about employees cares or concerns.

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-11-24
  3. "Front Desk Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative in Memphis, TN

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Meeting and Greeting the new person that come to Memphis, learning new things in the hotel business

    Cons

    Manager doesnt acknowledge the work of his employee, High Crime, No Benefits, No chance for enhancment

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-09-10
  4. "Night Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Night Auditor in Moline, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels for more than a year

    Pros

    Has an excellent staff. Its like one big family

    Cons

    No benefits unless you are management

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-07-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I'm still surprised! Must Read!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Eureka, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice workers. Customers do tip okay ($5 avg/day). fast paced.

    Cons

    I quit because they were trying to force us to clean bed bug infested rooms, so i quit on spot. I have never met the managers, One day off, No benefits, Min pay, Very informal, I never received a uniform, It was a terrible experience and I blame entirely on the owners that I met. I could just be my location but be weary.

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-08-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Choicehotel! Take a close look at your franchisee..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front Desk Manager in Catonsville, MD

    I worked at Choice Hotels for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, Get to meet people from all over the world, get to stay at any choice property for at least $35.00 per night

    Cons

    Choice hotels are mostly franchises so there are no benefits....such as healthcare, low salary, this, lack of investment and empowerment of staff

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-06-24
  7. "Its a start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Choice Hotels full-time

    Pros

    -This per working at a Comfort Inn: -Great for those just starting out in Hotels. Not too work intensive. -If you are helping guests, they cannot fuss at you. -Small bonuses are nice

    Cons

    -Pay -No benefits (other than cheap hotel rooms) -Large turnover.

    Choice Hotels2015-05-18
  8. "thankless job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people everyday. Good staff to work with (for the most part). Occasional tips.

    Cons

    Franchise culture. Unappreciative, dishonest owners. No benefits, no paid time off, no perks at all.

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-03-03
  9. "Run! Do not work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Auditor in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Choice Hotels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to work by myself. Free breakfast working 3rd & 1st shift.

    Cons

    Pay sucks! I started off at 7.50 an hour, only took the job cause I needed something. The owner said after my 1 week of training. I would get more, been here for 6 months, and haven't received a rasie. I work on my days off, and work longer then normal cause people come in late all the time. No Benefits.

    Continue reading
    Choice Hotels2015-01-21
  10. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Wichita Falls, TX

    I have been working at Choice Hotels part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience and work environment.

    Cons

    No Benefits and the pay isnt that great

    Choice Hotels2014-07-11
Found 638 reviews