Chopra Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Chopra Center Reviews

Updated May 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Chopra Center CEO Deepak Chopra (no image)
Deepak Chopra
11 Ratings
  1. "One of the best companies I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chopra Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Caring culture. Products and services really help people improve their lives.

    Cons

    Too many decision makers sometimes decreased rate of progress.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keepin'!

    Chopra Center2017-06-12
  2. "creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chopra Center full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Business day starts about 9:30 and wraps up about 4.

    Cons

    No one works very hard.

    Chopra Center2018-05-30
  3. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chopra Center full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility , great team, good benefits,

    Cons

    LOW pay, company needs to find its direction

    Chopra Center2017-09-22
  4. "guest consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chopra Center full-time

    Pros

    Free lunches, beautiful/peaceful work environment, free yoga/meditation, employee library

    Cons

    hectic, management is very unorganized, peers don't trust each other

    Chopra Center2017-09-02
  5. "Lovely company/great benefits/low pay/hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chopra Center part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Access to training, guest speakers, wellness incentives, like-minded coworkers, free yoga and meditation classes, gorgeous setting, personal growth opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work, fair degree of stress, mandatory attendance at meetings and trainings outside of normal work schedule, no 401K match, negligible opportunities for growth, low salary

    Advice to Management

    Retain highly trained and qualified employees with financial incentives such as matching 401K contributions, higher pay, and opportunities for growth

    Chopra Center2017-05-16
  6. "Great place to learn Ayurvedic principles and be a part of a culture that promotes wellbeing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chopra Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Passionate employees that are dedicated to a life of wellbeing. Fun department lunches for birthdays and holiday parties. Reasonable workload at all times. Free birthday massage and spa day.

    Cons

    I wasn't given a performance review when the other employees were receiving theirs.

    Advice to Management

    Feedback is helpful so that employees can constantly improve their work.

    Chopra Center2017-02-28
  7. "Event Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chopra Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn to meditate and get access to a few event sessions. Good health insurance plan.

    Cons

    Scattered leadership, heavy demanding workload, low pay.

    Chopra Center2017-02-18
  8. "Awesome work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chopra Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, good benefits, 401k, and a warm and friendly environment.

    Cons

    The break room is freezing!

    Chopra Center2016-10-31
  9. "Dream Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chopra Center

    Pros

    I've been working in the Chopra Center for almost two years, and has certainly been the best experience! I LOVE my job, being surrounded by these teachings every day has improved my life in every way. We meditate every day and we could attend daily yoga classes if desired. My coworkers become my friends quickly; we support each other all the time and this makes the busy days fun and smooth! Attending events is... my favorite benefit, besides having the opportunity to hear lessons with the most important teachers and masters of the field of well-being, I have had the opportunity to meet amazing people from all over the world. We have free access to all online courses and the support for getting Certified in our teachings is incredible.

    Show More

    Cons

    Distance from home to work

    Advice to Management

    Training manuals for all departments.

    Chopra Center2016-10-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Program Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Consultant in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chopra Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at the Center for a little over 3 years as a Program Consultant -- which is basically a sales person and client service account manager for live events and retreats which are offered at the center. The opportunity for personal and professional growth in the wellness field are unparalleled. There is so much wonderful exposure to Deepak, other top notch thought leaders, opportunities to attend the seminars... & become certified as a Meditation, Yoga, Ayurveda instructor. You got to serve people from all over the world. You get to offer people incredible programs that literally transform their lives and be a part of their journey. You get to work in a community of positive, supportive, service based employees. If you work hard and are successful in the sales role, there income is very nice.

    Show More

    Cons

    In my particular position, it required quite a bit of long hours and high energy days due to the nature of selling and client management. It can be very emotionally and physically exhausting over time. The initial ramp up period as a salesperson has a relatively low salary. I do also wish there was a little bit more vacation time.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more formalized training to new team members. Focus more on improving the internal systems of the sales organization as well as cross-department processes to allow for more ease and fluidity of revenue generation.

    Chopra Center2016-09-30
Found 19 reviews