KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Christie's

Engaged Employer

Christie's

Add a Review

Christie's Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 536 of over 833 reviews

3.7
77%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Christie's CEO Guillaume Cerutti
Guillaume Cerutti
140 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "great people and connections(in 90 reviews)
  • "Great mentors and colleagues.(in 43 reviews)
  • "Benefits is good and the people(in 40 reviews)
  • "The team is great and very supportive, christie’s is an incredible place to work at.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Many opportunities to challenge yourself by exploring various parts of the business(in 16 reviews)
Cons
  • "Salary is low and pay grades are not transparent(in 52 reviews)
  • "low pay at junior level but when you get up the com is fair and much more rewarding(in 51 reviews)
  • "Long hours and not fixed hours(in 23 reviews)
  • "Poor management with no listening to the team's suggestions.(in 23 reviews)
  • "No work life balance.(in 11 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Christie's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Aug 5, 2022 - OPs Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There has been a lot of focus on improving company culture and work/life balance over the past few years.

    Cons

    As with any corporate company, change can sometimes be slow as new leadership, budget constraints, and general turnover occur. But progress is always being made and there is a lot of opportunity to contribute.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for your lovely review!

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Unique, but low reward

    Aug 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always exciting, challenging, fast paced, good collaboration

    Cons

    Lack of compensation or rewards, growing teams, innovation

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for your 4 star review. We are pleased to hear you enjoy the exciting and fast paced nature of working at Christie’s. Christie’s always aim to provide a competitive compensation picture and offer a good benefits package to all our employees. Over the last few years Christie’s has cemented it’s place as one of the foremost leaders for innovation within the art market, ranging from adopting NFTs and cryptocurrency to our most recent Christie’s Ventures launch. We are committed to identifying and investing in pioneering digital opportunities that will drive forward strategic initiatives in the business and wider market.

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    being an intern at christies

    Aug 2, 2022 - Internship 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great people and connections beautiful and famous art in-office cafeteria with coffee and tea machines

    Cons

    constant work overload especially during sales

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    2 year experience at Christie's

    Aug 15, 2022 - Exhibition Designer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creative and exciting place to work

    Cons

    poor diversity and inclusion initiatives

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Jul 22, 2022 - Busineess Development 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Challenging environment and fast paced.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    We are pleased to hear you enjoy the fast paced nature of Christie’s and would recommend working with us. Christie’s is committed to the professional development of its staff, whether that be through a wide range of training programmes delivered by our excellent Learning & Development Team or progressing to another role with us which are advertised on a weekly basis. We also offer a mentorship programme where more junior colleagues can be paired off with more experienced colleagues to help navigate their path; all employees are encouraged to reach out to their regional Recruitment Team should they have any queries or would request support on their career journey.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Probably not great for long-term career prospects

    Aug 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work, great non-comp benefits

    Cons

    Expectation to put your all into the job without the potential for career advancement

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for your review. Our business is not the size where we are able to offer line of sight to give certainty of your longer term career trajectory, however we have a strong track record of promoting within, whether that be internal staff or interns, and we have developed a robust career path framework to try and give clarity to our employees on what their future within the company could look like. It is great to hear you enjoy the benefits package provided and the many different interesting aspects to your role.

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Interesting, fast paced fun place to work

    Jul 20, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unique interesting global environment with exposure to great art you'll see once in a lifetime

    Cons

    Lower comp compared to other industries, depending on your role

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review, you never know what artwork you will find when you come into the office each day – it is definitely exciting!

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice

    Jul 19, 2022 - Clerk Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice people and work

    Cons

    Bad people in high places

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Mis-Management

    Jul 17, 2022 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good benefits, great art, decent work/life balance (in my area)

    Cons

    I am convinced that half the staff here wouldn't be able to hold down a job anywhere else. Strategic decisions in the new york office are very short-sighted. Entry level employees are worked to the bone and paid a pittance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. As a current employee, you are aware that we just completed our 2022 Employee Engagement survey and we will be addressing some of the themes you express below. We regularly review our compensation relative to the market and are committed to ensuring our staff our recognized and rewarded for their performance and hard work. Additionally, we are working on a library of new trainings and leadership and development courses to enhance the skills of all staff, with a particular focus on leadership and management skills.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Stay for the long term!

    Jun 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are incredible and passionate about the art.

    Cons

    Can feel like a very political place to work in.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Christie's Response

    Thank you for leaving us this review! Christie’s is proud of all our colleagues, we truly believe it is their passion that makes it an incredible place to work.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 536 Reviews

Christie's Reviews FAQs

Christie's has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 833 reviews left anonymously by employees. 77% of employees would recommend working at Christie's to a friend and 59% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Christie's employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Christie's. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

77% of Christie's employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Christie's 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Christie's to be workplace, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, career development.

Popular Careers with Christie's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Christie's? Share Your Experiences

or

Christie's Careers

Cover image for Christie's

WHO WE ARE Christie’s is a name and place that speaks of extraordinary art, unparalleled service and expertise, as well as international...More

  • Work With Us
  • Philanthropy
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Christie's

807 days ago

For all the latest updates on our operations during the COVID pandemic, please use this link.
Shared image - The latest updates about our sales and offices worldwide | Christie's
The latest updates about our sales and offices worldwide | Christie's
glassdoor.com