ChromaDex Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
ChromaDex CEO Robert Fried  (no image)
Robert Fried
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Strategy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ChromaDex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very strong team assembled and great progress in building TruNiagen into a global brand. Exciting to be a part of it.

    Cons

    Change can be challenging particularly for those who were with the company prior to the decision to focus on Niagen and who don’t work in that area. But change can also be an opportunity.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-09-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ChromaDex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -As a small company, the C-level and VP executives prioritize connecting with and building relationships with all employees. —Flexibility with schedules and time off -Managers and Directors that care - Annual bonuses - HR team that values your ideas - Stock options - Health & Wellness program - Complimentary coffee & snacks - Quiet - Value diversity - Work from home options for some positions - Award winning company - Value strong science and quality

    Cons

    - Needs for improvement in the area of employee retention - Workload can be heavy for some positions

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-12-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Demoralizing Corporate Chaos"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChromaDex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent snacks, health insurance, on-site parking, co-workers that feel like war buddies

    Cons

    Upper management is overpaid and under qualified with the sole exception of the CFO. CEO is bombastic, insensitive and makes offensive comments with zero awareness of how inappropriate his behavior is. HR does nothing to address this. Lower level employees do nearly all of the actual ‘work’ fueled by false promises of growth and improved working conditions. Multiple people in upper management have obtained their jobs by sleeping with or otherwise enmeshing themselves personally with those in charge of hiring, with no actual work experience or developed skill set applicable to their current field. Vast amounts of time and energy are wasted on insecure higher-ups flexing on their perceived ‘underlings’. Miscommunication is rampant among all departments, and management’s M.O. is to pass the buck when subpar work or work no one wants to handle comes up. There are some smart, grounded, solid workers at ChromaDex who will undoubtedly all leave within the year because no change for the better is being implemented. Turnover is near-constant; in 2019 30 people started and left new positions within 3 months. Keep in mind when interviewing: folks are good at putting on a professional, positive face at first, then many reveal themselves to be borderline clueless at how to do their job and relate to other employees in a respectful, efficient manner.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2020-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "People are nice, culture is tough"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ChromaDex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee in break room

    Cons

    management style was not positive

    ChromaDex2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Say It Louder For The People In The Back!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChromaDex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A strong camaraderie amongst all departments openly discussing a multitude of topics, such as: how much everyone dislikes their job, disproves of Executive Leadership, and the imminent failure of all future product development. I’ve never experienced such an organization where the culture is so deeply rooted into bonding over emotional pain and suffering. Nice job on bringing the people together! Also, to align with my fellow departed (see any comment below), the snacks were decent unless you wanted to grab an extra avocado for a snack. Then you’ve gone too far and abused your snack privileges.

    Cons

    It is a rarity to find departmental leadership at this company that is task oriented and assists towards driving actions to completion. This is a very small company, so all hands on deck is pertinent for success. Any slackers to the leadership chain on your team and the burden is continually delegated with no recognition for picking up the dead weight. If you're looking to grow with a company and be rewarded for your work vastly outside of your job description, apply to literally anywhere else. You won't receive that opportunity here. Lastly, the toilets were routinely overflowing and it was the single most disgusting re-occurring event. Shout out to the person that has been cleaning it up. You win the ‘That Is Not My Job' award and you’re under appreciated. Hopefully Quality is swabbing the product areas for E. Coli. Gross.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-09-25
  6. "Jump aboard the rocketship!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChromaDex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing company with amazing leadership. Lot of opportunities in marketing, tech, engineering and ops as the company transforms into a true B2C business. Like the other review said, it’s the excitement of a startup and the stability of a public company - your options are actually worth something here. Opportunity to work on a modern tech stack, great office space, cool co-workers.

    Cons

    Usual growth pains around process, but most seem to be resolved quickly,

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-07-05
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Disorganized and Overworked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChromaDex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Snacks and some of the people. Stock options and 401k. I learned how to deal with a lot of stressful situations.

    Cons

    In 5 years of working there I had 6 different supervisors. The company has been changing since the day I got there. I was hoping it would smooth out but just became more and more disorganized. New leadership at the highest level created more chaos and no focus on the direction of the company. We kept having to redo every project multiple times because it was either not good enough or incorrect but now one knew what was the correct answer to anything. I also did way more than what was included in my job description and normally I am happy to help out but without a basic merit increase after my "very good" performance review, I could not stand the imbalance of power between management and regular employees and the way they communicated to me. They tell you one thing and do another thing. HR was difficult to work with by not pushing through requests unless you pestered them about it. They discriminated against certain employees by not communicating an ability to leave early for a holiday.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-07-03
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Beware of HR Department - Company Outlook Poor in General"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChromaDex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The snacks were a nice afterthought. Also, there are only two people in the HR department so it's easy to figure out who is messing things up.

    Cons

    HR department caused a number of issues for a number of employees. HR department is unprofessional and worst of all, non-confidential with employee information (HR members gossip with other unrelated employees). This department is also known within the company for being passive aggressive, and victimizes employees who speak up or have issue or comments with how things are run. HR department refuses to take responsibility for any errors or mistakes made on their part. Additionally, there are very few personal and professional growth opportunities for employees in middle management or entry level positions within this company. Compensation is consistently 15% (or more) under industry average.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Anonymous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChromaDex

    Pros

    Free food, causal dress code

    Cons

    Upper management is SEVERELY overpaid while they hand off their responsibilities to others with no incentives or pay increase. Pointless meetings about growth and expansion, but rather look outside and not promote within. This place lacks diversity, and it’s a revolving door. Everyone is unhappy here, but HR doesn’t care to address the moral and Management can car less. As long as the product sells they don’t care about the employees.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (5)

    "An old startup culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ChromaDex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, decent work/life balance, good office.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs and not enough people getting work done. Not enough structure and pushback on spur-of-the-moment ideas.

    Continue reading
    ChromaDex2019-01-14
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews