Chuck E. Cheese "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chuck E. Cheese Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Chuck E. Cheese CEO Tom Leverton
Tom Leverton
384 Ratings
Pros
  • "The majority of the time it is a fun environment(in 80 reviews)

  • "Sometimes free food, good enviroment, decent pay(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to find employees, long hours(in 52 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not help keep the stores adequately staffed with managers(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Chuck E. Cheese’s needs a lot of help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant Store Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are in management on down to team 2 you get free food. I just started I will do another review in a few months.

    Cons

    They need a lot of help. They need to raise the standards. It’s understaffed. Remember the amount of pay you offer to your employees is what you are going to attract. Chuck E. Cheese’s used to be like Disneyland for a lot of ppl. It is overpriced for the level of customer service you are getting.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better ppl. Do not just try to hire anything with a pulse. Don’t be afraid to fire ppl either. The bad apples, or the ones who do t care poison ur business, and it is not fair to the guests who pay a hefty sum to have a party at ur establishment.

    Chuck E. Cheese2018-04-03
  2. "A lot of work but very little pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The free food and good hours.

    Cons

    Lots and lots expected from you

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in our shoes and you’ll realize that it might be to much work

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-11-18
  3. "poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Crystal Lake, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food and free drinks

    Cons

    Managers only promote there friends but will tell you that you’ll be promoted and 3 months later you no longer are and there freinds is after 3 days of training

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-09-20
  4. "Less than okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cast Member in Laurel, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food, Free Candy, Free drinks

    Cons

    favoritism towards a particular race, highly immature management, hours, pay, customers

    Advice to Management

    act mature even though you work around nothing but kids.

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-07-09
  5. "good first job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Birthday Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese part-time

    Pros

    Free food when working, awesome coworkers, easy job

    Cons

    doesn't pay enough for the amount of work you have to do

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-06-08
  6. "Great place to work for chill environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes free food, good enviroment, decent pay

    Cons

    Not enough hours sometimes some weeks.

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-04-06
  7. "Friendly cast but Useless Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team II Kitchen 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, if you can work weekends management is usually pretty good at working around your schedule no matter the reason. Up to $20 worth of Free Food if your Team 2 or Management, 50% off for every one else.

    Cons

    Unstable scheduled, if you are known to be available without a good excuse aka school or children the Management will throw your hours around randomly. Called off work at the last minute, some times beyond the last minute as you'll be in for work and they'll tell you to wait 2 hours to clock in, or send you home early. Until I made full time My hours could vary any where from 25 to 45 hours in a week depending on... their need. High employee turn over and very poor training requirements. In recent years Chuck E Cheese's standards have hit rock bottom, they are so desperate for workers they don't push any the standards they used to have in terms of quality or speed of work. This has lead to the 1 or 2 people who know what they are doing to have to do 90% of the work while the others sit around on their Phones, management included. Out of touch upper management just tossed down changes and idea's to be seen doing something, even if it's against other standards. Stuff like always wanting some one at Kid Check (to the point even a manager can get fired if caught leaving the area and a kid escapes), yet cutting back hours so One person has to run the entire front of the store during the week days. Or my personal favorite an attempt to save money by not double bagging trash cans any more, leading to the cheap bags to tear and make a mess constantly to save a bag that cost less than a cent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who know what they are doing, actually give out raises. In the 8 and almost 9 years I worked at CeC I have never had a single one of the "yearly reviews" I was supposed to get that would go over my performance and possible chance at a raise.

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-04-04
  8. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    $20 in free food every shift Fun environment

    Cons

    Low pay for workload Messy management

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-03-19
  9. "Work you till you're gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese full-time

    Pros

    Fun people if team 2 or higher you will get 20 dollars a day for free food every time you work

    Cons

    Bad pay for how much work you do. Management are terrible in most locations

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-03-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, fun managers , love the fast pace.

    Cons

    Upper management is uncaring.

    Advice to Management

    District managers should try to see the struggles within the store instead of just barking orders.

    Chuck E. Cheese2019-02-05
Found 64 reviews