Chuck E. Cheese "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chuck E. Cheese Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Chuck E. Cheese CEO Tom Leverton
Tom Leverton
385 Ratings
Pros
  • "The majority of the time it is a fun environment(in 80 reviews)

  • "Sometimes free food, good enviroment, decent pay(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to find employees, long hours(in 52 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not help keep the stores adequately staffed with managers(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Mascot in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of laughs and smiles

    Cons

    Long hours for low pay

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2019-08-07
  2. "Former General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at Chuck E Cheese for a long time. Over that time period I met a lot of great people and developed a lot of great friendships. I also developed a lot of management experience from past DMs & my former GM

    Cons

    Long hours, the current dms don’t care if you have no help and they do not support you. I do not recommend becoming a general manager for this company

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2019-08-18
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Burlington, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good DM, pay low compare to hours worked

    Cons

    Hard to find employees, long hours

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2019-08-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Give CEC Your Best and They'll Give You Yours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Marketing Specialist in El Cajon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for promotion if you go above and beyond at work.

    Cons

    Salaried employees frequently have to skip out on breaks, work long hours (but that's relatively expected).

    Chuck E. Cheese2018-12-03
  5. "Hard work, good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Chaotic environment with long hours

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2018-11-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "If you're a cheesy person, this is the place for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    FUN, FUN, FUN!! If you love working with community, kids, and family; there is no restaurant brand like CEC. You are encouraged to make your work environment as fun as possible for your "cast members" and your guests. Each location feels like a family operated business where managers and cast members rely on each other to have another successful day. Great discounts, competitive benefits, and strong community networking opportunities. The company is constantly growing and changing so there is a lot of room for growth and relocation. There are also many opportunities for temporary work travel and training. You also get to know your district managers and even regional vice presidents. The company is very proactive about open lines of communication and while you may work in just one store you have probably met employees from your entire district which I think is super cool! I have made some close friends here and they really feel like my team.

    Cons

    Depending on your location/position, you may have long hours (10 hours+) and the shifts are during business hours (late nights and weekends). The company also does snot offer the ability to work from home.

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2018-08-08
  7. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers were nice

    Cons

    Long hours were rough while in school

    Chuck E. Cheese2018-08-10
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Brick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuck E. Cheese part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a very fun work environment! You're expected to act like a kid. In the cashier position it's also a really great into to sales where you can get rewarded to upselling the most. If a fast paced work environment is what you like then this is the place. You get to play around when it's not super busy and being Chuck e. Cheese at a birthday party gets you a little bit of extra cash because you get tipped.

    Cons

    There is an annoying hourly show that gets fried into your brain for the rest of eternity leaving you singing weird kid/Chuck e. Cheese songs forever. If your Chuck e. Cheese is understaffed like mine was it can get out of control. Also if you can't stand for long hours this may not be a good job for you as you almost constantly have to be on your feet. And once the store has closed you are still there for and hour or more cleaning as your not allowed to really clean up in front of guests. On your worst nights you could be there until 1 a.m.

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2017-12-04
  9. "FUN FUN FUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese for more than a year

    Pros

    Birthday parties, seeing the kids light up

    Cons

    No breaks, too many long hours

    Chuck E. Cheese2017-11-15
  10. "Decent job for young kids, poor job for adults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuck E. Cheese full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment can be fun. If you enjoy working around kids that's a plus too.

    Cons

    Crew members below a "team two" status are treated very poorly, with no shift meals, long hours, and unreliable staff, this all can make work very stressful. They are also quick to use and abuse you when they need help then cut your hours after over hiring. Many employees at our store were told they'd promote them and months later still no promotion.

    Continue reading
    Chuck E. Cheese2017-11-27
Found 52 reviews