Chula Vista Resort Reviews | Glassdoor

Chula Vista Resort Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Mike Kaminski
13 Ratings
  1. "I enjoyed my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chula Vista Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers Always willing to listen- management Flexible when weather is bad Flexible with home life complications Very understanding Family owned so they get it when your child is sick or you have parent/teacher conferences.

    Cons

    There is some managers that come in late/hungover or leave before their staff and the issue is never addressed even though multiple employees have left because of that person.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what the staff is telling you & do exit interviews with at least your management staff when they leave.

    Chula Vista Resort2017-08-29
  2. "Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chula Vista Resort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extra hours Cheap lunch for employees Good team

    Cons

    20 m for lunch

    Advice to Management

    2501 River Road

    Chula Vista Resort2019-02-10
  3. "Guest Services Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Chula Vista Resort

      Pros

      I'm not really sure there are any pros about working here. I guess the one pro is the use of facilities, not that anyone would actually want to stay in the resort after knowing how housekeeping works.

      Cons

      Not a well organized place to work. Always severely understaffed, even as a supervisor I was often times the only one manning the front desk so attempting to check in guests while doing supervisory duties became very difficult. Management is poor and doesn't seem to care about their hourly staff, they are absent and not involved. Would never recommend any one to work at this resort.

      Chula Vista Resort2017-08-28
    • "Guest Services Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Guest Services Supervisor in Wisconsin Dells, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chula Vista Resort full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Scheduling was flexible Beautiful scenery Friendly co-workers for the most part Lots of independence as a supervisor Able to work schedules around schooling/other obligations

      Cons

      No back up from management or directors Finger pointing Lack of structure CEOs are never present and constantly spending money that the company doesn't have

      Advice to Management

      The fact that as a supervisor I was only paid $11/hour to deal with constant complaints, threats, and general bs from guests and staff is abhorrent. My manager was never around and was constantly late and/or hungover, and there was absolutely no accountability from anyone including CEOs (who were constantly gone on extravagant vacations instead of putting money into business improvements, I might add). I was there during...

      Show More
      Chula Vista Resort2017-08-28
    • "All is well"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wisc Dells, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chula Vista Resort full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I want to have a experience to work in usa

      Cons

      There is the nothing downside to working in chula vista

      Advice to Management

      I do my best for any kind of work

      Chula Vista Resort2017-04-17
    • "HORRIBLE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Chula Vista Resort full-time

      Pros

      There really isn't anything

      Cons

      Pay is horrible Management is horrible, never around, they don't help if it's just you checking people in, they don't care if your sick, it's DIRTY, housekeeping is disgusting! Bed bugs!

      Advice to Management

      Get a new team!

      Chula Vista Resort2017-01-31
    • "A fine stepping stone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Chula Vista Resort full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Camaraderie within your department Company is willing to train entry level candidates without prior experience Frequently promote from within You meet a wide variety of people, each with different needs and interests

      Cons

      Significant interdepartmental conflicts Toxic culture of finger pointing without accountability Entry level staffers are often promoted to supervisory/management positions without adequate training or resources

      Advice to Management

      1. Stop taking the quickest/cheapest/easiest route when it comes to facility maintenance. 2. Nurture a more constructive, inclusive company culture. When a guest makes a complaint, the front desk immediately blames Reservations, Housekeeping, Maintenance, the previous front desk shift, the front desk manager, basically anyone they can think of, so they aren't at fault. The same is true for other departments. 3. Follow...

      Show More
      Chula Vista Resort2016-12-13
    • "Banquet server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chula Vista Resort full-time

      Pros

      very friendly environment, can easily get more than 40 hours

      Cons

      times don't always go according to schedule so expect to either be there an hour longer or possibly end short depending on the event and how many people are working the event

      Advice to Management

      N/A

      Chula Vista Resort2016-06-20
    • "It not the best job, Buts its not the worsst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Chula Vista Resort

      Pros

      Met lots of my good friends here

      Cons

      Too much complaining from employees! Misery loves comany

      Chula Vista Resort2016-02-11
    • "Call center"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Chula Vista Resort

        Pros

        Friendly relaxed atmosphere, coworkers were very nice.

        Cons

        Club marketing was a whole different atmosphere! Left after a month!

        Chula Vista Resort2015-03-13
      Found 22 reviews