Chuy's Food Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Food Server

Create your profile to get personalized information

Chuy's Food Server Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
4 Ratings
  1. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers, great food, fun work environment

    Cons

    As a server you get double or triple sat often

    Advice to Management

    Great job!

    Chuy's2018-05-10
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, great food. Easy work

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Chuy's2018-08-11
  3. "They don't take sexual harassment seriously"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Kennesaw, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They close early so you don't work late nights

    Cons

    Passive aggressive managers Sexual harassment not taken seriously

    Chuy's2018-08-08
  4. "Can be rewarding and can also be lucrative providing the right environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great crews of people, flexible transfer polices, delicious Tex Mex. Can be a cool and understanding place to work. Authentic!

    Cons

    Slow sometimes, workload can be dictated by people with separate agendas. Lazy and complacent crew at times. Upcharges for sour cream and guacamole. ( understandable )

    Advice to Management

    Work on attitude, stop trying to make the experience about “ upselling someone’s socks off their feet”

    Chuy's2017-10-20
  5. "Tough training, Tough Crowd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Food! Discounts Friendliest coworkers and staff Management is very strict, but you can tell they do care Busy Definite possibility to make money from drink sales Corporate is great, fun concept

    Cons

    Training - BOOKWORK! like you wouldn't believe be prepared to put together 5-7 sauces ingredient by ingredient on the written test before you can start making some money and there must be between 7-11 ingredients in each one, not to mention the extensive menu. Trainers who have been there for years can be less than understanding to the day 1 Experienced Server. CHIPS AND SALSA!!! (but, what'd you expect?) ^ Cleaning the "CHIPS AND SALSA!!!" (seriously.) Busy Cheaper customers, lower tips unless you get the good sections lots of competition for said sections trainers, some are cool, and some want to move up and can be really tough especially considering the menu and knowledge required Tipouts 6% High Volume, Low Tips = Turn and Burn Footwork & Bussing + Sidework = Whew! - Better Sell!! Competitive if you want a better position

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your hearts are gold, and there's a lot of great people in management here, love the culture, but don't be so corporate, the tests and all that, I get it, but have patience and realize encyclopedic knowledge of onion powder and garlic powder, are not necessary, tomatillos, garlic, stock, - got it! The job is tough, there is a lot of work, help your staff to sell and if they're not making money recognize that and coach them into better positions for themselves. you're the ones paying them out

    Show More
    Chuy's2016-10-21
  6. "Chuys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it has really good food and good money

    Cons

    the senior level management is bad

    Advice to Management

    get rid of your gm

    Chuy's2016-09-07
  7. "Management can ruin a place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Southlake, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money, guests, recipes. You can make really good money here if you're willing to pick up doubles and learn the menu front and back.

    Cons

    Every store is different, some stores stick to their roots and care about the food and some don't. If you try to talk about anything that goes wrong it's not handled well.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and don't just look out for your bonus and sweep things under the rug when area directors come in.

    Chuy's2016-05-22
  8. "Made me never want to work in restaurants again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I cannot think of any. The managers were nice I guess. They offer corporate training for new employees when a new store opens.

    Cons

    My coworkers did heroin and cocaine. I was harassed. Management did not train the employees on how to respect each other.

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate training on sexual harassment. Drug test before hiring. Background check people.

    Chuy's2016-05-05
Found 8 reviews