Chuy's Host Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Chuy's Host Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
7%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Hostess at Chuy's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Host 

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with your schedule, great management team

    Cons

    Sometimes unorganized, not a set leaving time

    Chuy's2019-09-23
  2. "Not as fun as it's made out to be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Tyler, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will work with your schedule

    Cons

    Lack of co-operation, Selfishness, Greed,

    Advice to Management

    Think about your employees more and encourage co-operation. Management makes a whole lot more than anyone else. Think about their welfare. Treating them badly for the sake of profits is not a good way to run a business.

    Chuy's2019-12-06
  3. "Caring management, fun coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host 

    I worked at Chuy's part-time

    Pros

    Fun team to work on. Managers cared about employees

    Cons

    Hosts weren't always trained well and it negatively impacted servers

    Chuy's2019-11-14
  4. "Great place to work if you like serving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, always felt at home.

    Cons

    Busy if you don't like being busy

    Chuy's2019-06-17
  5. "Host experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Host 

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool atmosphere and history in Austin

    Cons

    Alot of side work for only $9/hr

    Chuy's2019-03-06
  6. "Managers are very understanding when you can’t make it in ( Rob, Harry, Jason). Hosts and servers get along great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, super friendly! Best managers ever except one.

    Cons

    One of the managers are very rude, I called in because I couldn’t work due to my religion— manager told me to come in either way and did not respect my religion. I called back and he said I no longer worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Have more respect when it comes to others religion!

    Chuy's2018-10-13
  7. "Good food, bad-tempered managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Midlothian, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The food was good and there were nice benefits for people who were fulltime workers

    Cons

    Manager would swear at workers who made a mistake or was thought to have made a mistake. Orientation didn't disclose salary and atomosphere could be condescending at times.

    Chuy's2017-05-21
  8. "host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off, free meals pretty often too, discounted t shirts, fun staff to work with

    Cons

    hard to move up, empty promises.

    Chuy's2017-02-21
  9. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Truly my favorite restaurant job I've ever had. The managers are great but my co-workers are even better! Great environment and we stay pretty busy so it's easy to make good money.

    Cons

    Nacho car... it's the devil. People come in just to get free nachos but don't actually buy anything. Sometimes understaffed but that happens everywhere.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Chuy's2016-04-27
  10. "Great place to work, especially for those starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Coworkers are generally awesome -Everyone is like family -Great discounts on good food -A lot of regular customers that have good relationships with employees -Great management -Worth staying at

    Cons

    -Competition sometimes -Lot of effort -Probably better pay at other places

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do

    Chuy's2016-04-25
Found 11 reviews