Chuy's Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Chuy's Hostess Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
20%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
6 Ratings
  1. "hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Hostess in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i love to work with people and make them smile with the yummy food i put in front of them.

    Cons

    some customers are rude and you just have to know how to deal with customers like that . ie . getting called out of your name by rude customers

    Advice to Management

    don't let hard work go unknown.

    Chuy's2017-08-18
  2. "easy Job. Good for college kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hostess in Norman, OK
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a difficult job. Many young customers and families

    Cons

    The managers struggled to keep training and scheduling in order

    Chuy's2019-08-24
  3. "Managers are very understanding when you can’t make it in ( Rob, Harry, Jason). Hosts and servers get along great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are great, super friendly! Best managers ever except one.

    Cons

    One of the managers are very rude, I called in because I couldn’t work due to my religion— manager told me to come in either way and did not respect my religion. I called back and he said I no longer worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Have more respect when it comes to others religion!

    Chuy's2018-10-13
  4. "This was my first job and it was a great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone excepted me early on and management scheduled me around my school schedule.

    Cons

    There were a few issues in communication in management.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to each other more. When I needed to tell management regarding my schedule or any other information about merchandise I had to go tell every manager until something got done.

    Chuy's2018-07-07
  5. "Fun Place and Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Rogers, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and positive environment. Guests usually come there often and are happy to be there.

    Cons

    Can be loud and hectic. Sometimes difficult to stay organized at the host stand.

    Chuy's2018-05-16
  6. "Hostess to Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •1/2 off food. •Most of the managers somewhat care about the employees. Only two actually cared. •Somewhat friendly environment to work in. •Good shift times.

    Cons

    •Barely took my sexual harassment claims seriously, had to report multiple times. All they did was make the dude apologize to me and put a lame report in, but otherwise I still had to see and interact with the person who had harassed me. The only reason it got reported was because I told the only girl manager there. The other ones just gave me pity looks or simply didn’t care. Felt stupid and as if I shouldn’t have said anything. •Typical Server drama between coworkers. •Not much pay, even for a server since the food prices are low, it attracts cheap people, and Chuy’s doesn’t have gratuity so a lot of servers got screwed over with big parties. Not cool. •Over scheduled me to my breaking point, even though I was suppose to be part-time. •Stressful environment and a lot of times I wouldn’t even get a break even though they knew they were forcing me into 5 doubles a week and looked annoyed when I was starting to burn out and wanted a break.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your employees. Don’t over schedule them just because you didn’t do you job correctly.

    Chuy's2018-04-12
  7. "I Wouldn't Go Back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Beavercreek, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool vibe in the restaurant, most people who come in to eat are loyal fans of the place and are very very nice.

    Cons

    Horrible management. The managers treated lots of people very poorly, hosts especially.

    Advice to Management

    Be more professional. Most people working here are unhappy solely because of management.

    Chuy's2017-10-23
  8. "Fast paced. Lots of quick thinking and planning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours usually, you can work certain days only and request others off easily when you apply for the job

    Cons

    Hours may be cut short sometimes, certain managers show favoritism towards employees, some management aspects could be better, managers forget to cut employees most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Know what goes on in the restaurant, make cuts promptly instead of waiting all night for it to get busy and it never does

    Chuy's2017-09-19
  9. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hostess in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in

    Cons

    Long shifts were physically demanding

    Chuy's2016-10-26
  10. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Server and Hostess in Colleyville, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Chuy's for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great people to work with - Everyone treated each other like family and management really cares about their employees - Good money can be made if you work hard

    Cons

    - Week nights tended to be slow

    Chuy's2016-08-05
Found 17 reviews