Chuy's Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 522 of over 528 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
192 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great food and amazing happy hour keeps regulars(in 29 reviews)

  • "Amazing people, good money, great training(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and some nights aren't as good as others(in 16 reviews)

  • "chuy's(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Work Place for Good Money

      Jun 3, 2021 - Server/Bartender 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy uniform, easy going, great work enviornment

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work part-time!

      May 17, 2021 - Host/Busser in Christiana, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can get good hours working here part-time, good introduction to work force, feels like working as part of a group of friends rather than co workers. Pay was decent for a first job. Free drink while working and half off of the whole menu for lunch. the food there is actually really well made, not frozen and reheated.

      Cons

      For time off have to get shifts covered or update management at least 2 weeks in advance. as with any restaurant, rush hour on weekends was long and hard, especially when customers start getting frustrated with not getting a table in 30 minutes. Tables have to be moved around to sit large parties, which is not a bad thing but not a good thing either.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Seriously avoid this place

      Apr 17, 2021 - Server in Frisco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun decorations in the restaurant and warm tortillas? I literally can not think of any pros

      Cons

      If you’re female odds are you will be harassed sexually by management or back of house. The pay is absolutely terrific also. I worked 40 hours a week for 2 months and made maybe 3k. Long hours, low pay, no breaks. You’re constantly being pulled from your task to help someone else do something . I would have originally mind but I couldn’t even SERVE my own tables without being drug out to do silverware rolls. This resulted in me not being able to do my job, as a server which is SERVE the customers, because I was being forced to roll silver, run food, etc. it got the point where I would be pulled by the shirt when I’m serving a customer to be brought into the back to do some minute detail. This company knows they only have to pay you 2.5 an hour, so they’ll LEACH you for your labor to essentially do slave labor. There interference severely dampened my ability to serve my customers and hurt my tips. Do not expect to walk out with more than $200 in a shift. Maybe $200 on a double if you’re lucky. I’d expect $150 on a good night MAYBE. Mornings are pain and slow and after tip out you’ll be lucky to leave with $20.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture and people

      Jun 16, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid culture and talented people. All fresh food.

      Cons

      Long work days with early in time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Typical server job

      Jun 15, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Waco, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed place to work with flexible hours

      Cons

      Hard to get shifts covered

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      This job could have been great, but...

      Apr 17, 2021 - Server/Waiter in North Little Rock, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed Attire, Thorough Training Process

      Cons

      Overly Corporate, Unorganized, Poor Management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent if you know how to burn and turn

      Jun 11, 2021 - Bartender/Server in Carmel, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      coworkers, easy money, fun, decent hours

      Cons

      will work you like a dog

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome Company!

      Jun 17, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Noblesville, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, personable, caring, money making

      Cons

      Some managers are not as great as the others. The better ones out-weigh the negative ones.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loved my time working at Chuys

      Mar 6, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work itself is pretty average but I think it's the people that make it (at least at my location). Management was always flexible with scheduling and is always open with the staff. Aside from serving you also have opening and closing duties that are always the same so you always know what to expect. Very rarely will they put on extra work for you to do. The money is good too for the amount of hours you spend there. During covid management was especially supportive and understanding showing us resources if we needed them.

      Cons

      The big patio is a pain to serve on especially during the summers when big families / parties all come. Expect to be overseated during these times for all sections indoors and out. Expect to leave later than what the schedule says, closing duties take a while to do and you need to know how to pace yourself with them. It's especially hard if dinner stays busy for long.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Chuy's

      May 30, 2021 - Busser/Runner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great and Awesome people to work with

      Cons

      None! It was a great place to work if you want to start a career in the food service industry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 522 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Chuy's Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Chuy's? Share Your Experiences

    Chuy's logo
    or