Chuy's Server/Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Server/Hostess

Chuy's Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
130 Ratings
  1. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Amazing Leadership, Top Line focus, Ability to run like your local Mexican restaurant

    Cons

    Potentially long hours if you aren't organized

    Chuy's2020-01-03
  2. "Fast paced and high volume, great place to build serving experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Review is for the West Plano location -High volume, even on the slowest days I would at least have 7-8 tables (which still isn't great but I have also seen a lot worse for slow days in other places) -The cities around in the area are still growing so the customer base, sales, and new guests only get higher -Easy to learn menu, very straightforward drink menu (it's tex-mex, there's not that much to be complicated about it) -Can expect $100-120 a night provided you aren't in stuck outside in the cold or heat, can expect more if you are in closing sections -Floor chart is a consistent rotation, so newer servers don't have to "pay their dues" to get in better sections -Servers get paid in cash at the end of every shift -Kitchen staff is generally pretty strong, so there aren't many issues with orders or ticket times

    Show More

    Cons

    -Staff generally skews toward the much younger side, so it can feel like high school at times -Clientele could be better at times -They always schedule at least one patio server, even in the worst weathers, so there are times when you will come in to work already knowing that your shift will be a waste of time and you will still have to stay for a while -Servers will also occasionally get scheduled as food runners, which is more effort for less money than you would make serving -The store is a training location for new managers at times, so management personnel are a revolving door most of the time besides the few consistent faces -Pay is good and probably above average when considering all different restaurants, however there are better paying establishments if you have a few years' experience

    Show More
    Chuy's2020-01-16
  3. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, welcoming, good money, good training

    Cons

    Varying hours, Varying pay, not always busy

    Chuy's2020-01-11
  4. "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dress code is relaxed.

    Cons

    I really never had no issues working at Chuys.

    Chuy's2020-01-07
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time

    Pros

    you make good friends, managers are nice, flexible with school or other jobs- overall Okay place to work

    Cons

    money sucks generally, unless you're a closer and a couple managers need to work on communication

    Advice to Management

    communicate

    Chuy's2020-01-20
  6. "Chaotic Restaurant with Dedicated Customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People who regularly eat Chuy's treat the brand as if they are fans of it by purchasing t-shirts and wearing them to the store. People dress up like Elvis on his birthday. Easy for a server to get plenty of hours. Relatively easy to swap shifts and get unpaid time off.

    Cons

    It's a restaurant like any other. Tips are inconsistent. There's sometimes petty drama. Customers can be utter nightmares at times and at other times can make you cry from their generosity. Not much room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way you'd like to be treated. You'll incur better karma.

    Chuy's2020-01-19
  7. "Love!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Cedar Park, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, people who got hired were unique in their own way! I loved the diversity of my staff. We all came from different places.

    Cons

    Chip refills got annoying on the days we were really busy. Management can really make it break the restaurant

    Advice to Management

    Stay strong! Take care of yourselves. Your staff can feel when something is off!

    Chuy's2019-12-30
  8. "Good business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Cook 

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, hard working staff

    Cons

    Favoritism, manager conflicts, breaking equipment

    Chuy's2019-11-28
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company and manager truly care.

    Cons

    It is the con of any restaurant on slow seasonings.

    Advice to Management

    Accept request offs.

    Chuy's2019-11-26
  10. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money could be decent at times

    Cons

    Managment was very mean at times

    Chuy's2019-12-08
Found 315 reviews