Chuy's "chuy s" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chuy's Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
130 Ratings
  1. "Busser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time

    Pros

    easy job anyone can do it

    Cons

    managers don't care about you

    Advice to Management

    organize a bit better

    Chuy's2019-10-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Hostess at Chuy's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Host 

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with your schedule, great management team

    Cons

    Sometimes unorganized, not a set leaving time

    Chuy's2019-09-23
  3. "It is okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and good managers

    Cons

    Tip out is a lot and there are a lot of servers

    Chuy's2019-10-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Disorganized and Lots of Sex for Hire."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Katy, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money if you work for it. Company recognizes hard work and is very willing to cross train.

    Cons

    Managers sleeping with waitstaff was rampant in my location. 2 male managers both married sleeping with young waitresses and not at all afraid to flaunt it. This brings distrust between manager and employee and gives other employees a sense of entitlement. It makes the work environment extremely uncomfortable. The side work is also the most side work I've ever done at any waitstaff job.

    Advice to Management

    Stop sleeping with your subordinates. Become more organized in scheduling and sections. Treat all employees equally. Find a better way to delegate side work.

    Chuy's2019-09-05
  5. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible fun fast cash great job while in school

    Cons

    I really enjoyed my time there

    Chuy's2019-08-21
  6. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Conroe, TX

    I have been working at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good training program and fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Working the same sections over and over, not a lot of money to be made only unless you work doubles. Not sufficient for the only source of income

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about your employees

    Chuy's2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are truly no pros of working here.

    Cons

    Training for managers. Benefits. The company as a whole.

    Chuy's2019-09-16
  8. "Good place to work at, your income is what you make of it, need to be willing to work hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great food, great staff, reflexible hours. Chuys' passion for their food makes for an attractive restaurant to work at, you want to work for a company that has pride in what they are creating.

    Cons

    Money making opportunities limited during certain times of the year, hard to stay afloat in more expensive markets.

    Chuy's2019-08-07
  9. "Loved It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chuy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made great money! Very flexible hours

    Cons

    Very exhausting and managers can be difficult

    Chuy's2019-07-26
  10. "easy Job. Good for college kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hostess in Norman, OK
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chuy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a difficult job. Many young customers and families

    Cons

    The managers struggled to keep training and scheduling in order

    Chuy's2019-08-24
Found 315 reviews