KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Chuy's

Engaged Employer

Chuy's

Add a Review

Chuy's Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 722 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Chuy's CEO         Steve Hislop  (no image)
Steve Hislop
259 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great environment and we stay pretty busy so it's easy to make good money.(in 55 reviews)
  • "Great for people trying to get into serving(in 40 reviews)
  • "The coworkers were great.(in 31 reviews)
  • "Half the staff was friendly and worked hard(in 26 reviews)
  • "great culture and fun environment in the home state of Tx.(in 24 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Chuy's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Nov 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leaders Great team work

    Cons

    Long hours was pretty hard

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great work

    Dec 1, 2021 - Manager in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay with good training

    Cons

    Long hours with a lot of management turnover

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Seriously avoid this place

    Apr 17, 2021 - Server in Frisco, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun decorations in the restaurant and warm tortillas? I literally can not think of any pros

    Cons

    If you’re female odds are you will be harassed sexually by management or back of house. The pay is absolutely terrific also. I worked 40 hours a week for 2 months and made maybe 3k. Long hours, low pay, no breaks. You’re constantly being pulled from your task to help someone else do something . I would have originally mind but I couldn’t even SERVE my own tables without being drug out to do silverware rolls. This resulted in me not being able to do my job, as a server which is SERVE the customers, because I was being forced to roll silver, run food, etc. it got the point where I would be pulled by the shirt when I’m serving a customer to be brought into the back to do some minute detail. This company knows they only have to pay you 2.5 an hour, so they’ll LEACH you for your labor to essentially do slave labor. There interference severely dampened my ability to serve my customers and hurt my tips. Do not expect to walk out with more than $200 in a shift. Maybe $200 on a double if you’re lucky. I’d expect $150 on a good night MAYBE. Mornings are pain and slow and after tip out you’ll be lucky to leave with $20.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    love it

    Sep 20, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great flexibility. fun atmosphere, awesome company backing. free food for managers. yearly events.

    Cons

    long hours. staffing in the kitchen and servers can be an issue right now

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Chuy's management

    Aug 13, 2021 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Great people and culture. Company builds long lasting relationships and gives back to the community.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours, 12-14 hour work days. Poor training program. Poor leadership from upper management ( Area Director)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    Apr 5, 2021 - Server in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, fun atmosphere, awesome management

    Cons

    Long hours, very fast paced

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not for everyone

    Jul 14, 2021 - Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free t shirt with job

    Cons

    Long hours no breaks culture a fraud

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun , great starting job

    May 17, 2021 - Waiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People there are awesome Experience and people skills you learn

    Cons

    Long hours into night closing restaurant down

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Love

    Feb 8, 2021 - Keyholder in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment, training, staff, culture

    Cons

    long hours, not many other cons in a restaurant job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Private Equity destroyed the culture

    Mar 9, 2021 - Restaurant Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay used to be good when working 50 hours week. Not so much at 70+

    Cons

    Long hours, have to keep labor so low it’s impossible to do needed cleaning, marketing, or anything to make guest visit stand out. Health insurance is expensive and not great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Chuy's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Chuy's? Share Your Experiences

or

Chuy's Photos

+ Add Photo
Chuy's photo of: chuys n lamar
Chuy's photo of: Christmas Spirit
Chuy's photo of: Unique Hubcap Rom
Chuy's photo of: Our decòr
Chuy's photo of: Chuys
Chuy's photo of: Cinco de Mayo

Have you worked here?

See All Photos