Cibo Reviews | Glassdoor

Cibo Reviews

Updated Mar 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Cibo CEO Lu Lacourte (no image)
Lu Lacourte
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A Whole New World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cibo full-time

    Pros

    Cibo has been and continues to be one of the best places I've worked after 15 years in the design industry. The team is smart, upbeat, flexible, respectful and like a family. Having worked at a number of shops that favor burnout and cliques - Cibo is a breath of fresh air in the world of advertising. Project managers and the new business team are doing a spectacular job with staffing/scheduling reasonably to... maintain a solid work/life balance. They allow anyone to take the initiative and influence/shift how things are done. Projects are a nice mix of conceptual/routine and everyone is onboard with modern digital design tools + UI/UX/dev knowledge. Older negative reviews don't align with the Cibo I've experienced thus far. I have been incredibly happy since joining the team and looking forward to doing more great work together!

    Show More

    Cons

    The staff is mostly comprised of senior talent, which doesn't make Cibo a great place to start your career. Everyone comes to the team with their A-game and it's confident sociable personalities who can think and do that thrive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Cibo2018-03-08
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Less than happy with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cibo

    Pros

    Can't give any pros as of now.

    Cons

    I work for a tech company who uses agencies to contract several employees. I was switched over to CIBO about 4 months ago and it has been nothing but a constant headache dealing with them. They had no idea what basic employment laws are and when I asked certain questions regarding basic benefits, they would give me incorrect information. Would highly discourage anyone from using them.

    Cibo2017-05-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Love the CIBO team!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Social Media Strategist and Community Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cibo for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working culture and teams!

    Cons

    Not enough full time opportunities when I was there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work team!

    Cibo2017-01-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing culture of creative, driven people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cibo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked at Cibo for several years. Cibo has built an amazing culture of creative, driven people who function like a big family. I made some of my best friends at the agency, which is big on company outings and always looks for opportunities to have fun together. There are also great educational opportunities across the company, from 4A’s classes to speaking coaches, to Photoshop classes for non-designers.... Cibo has great partnerships with its clients, with big names in the automobile industry, and large Silicon Valley tech companies making up the bulk of the roster. I remember when Cibo fired a huge account because the clients were a nightmare, which is the perfect representation of how Cibo cares about the well-being of its employees. Work-life balance is also great, because a lot of people have families, and are usually out the door by 5:30.

    Show More

    Cons

    I’m a big believer that companies’ (and peoples’) greatest strengths are usually their greatest weakness, and this is very much the case with Cibo. The agency is fluid, with little to no structure. It provides a great opportunity for hungry, proactive people to succeed and grow their careers. On the flipside, with no structure in place to provide career growth for junior people, those who don't take initiative to... get where they want to be on their own may not succeed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to foster an environment of education, growth, great creative work, and fun.

    Cibo2016-06-14
  6. "Freelance Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cibo

    Pros

    Here's the harsh truth about freelancing/contracting: the companies don't give a damn about freelancers. They treat us very differently than their full time employees. I think it's the mentality of "temporary help" gives them the sense that we are not worth giving the same respect to. This is based on the past 4-5 years of being a freelance designer. But here comes the twist: Cibo, out of all of my past and... current companies I freelanced at, treat us pretty awesome. Lou, Bob, Alder, Tom, Kerrie -- everyone-- take the time to actually talk to me. They genuinely are curious how your day is going. You know, like normal human beings.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have many thoughts on the Cons here. If anything, it could be that their timeline/deadlines can be a little aggressive. But that's typically the life of most agencies.

    Cibo2016-06-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "My Cibo experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cibo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked with such amazing personalities. Everyone here has a set of skill and they utilize them exponentially each and every week. You can see the team grow more and more dynamic. It's amazing. Not to mention we are all somewhat of a family here. We work together, and have company outings that are always fun. They really make sure everyone has time to breath easy after our busy week(s) and really make an... effort to make sure everyone is comfortable and satisfied with what they are working on which is a definite plus.

    Show More

    Cons

    So far my only con would be that Cibo is a company that aims to please each and everyone of our clients. We are the "yes we can" guys before anything, and so there are times when maybe we shouldn't. BUT I have noticed an effort in making sure each person involved in a project is satisfied and that's honestly all I can ask for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work guys. I have felt nothing but warm welcomes since I first walked in the door (and then right back out for a project), but each of you have and are doing an awesome job at making sure your team is happy and from what I'm hearing, they all are. Me included.

    Cibo2016-05-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Smart, creative team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cibo

    Pros

    Working at Cibo has been a great experience. Everyone on the team is very smart and leave their egos at the door. Everyone values a solid work life balance.

    Cons

    No cons at this point.

    Cibo2016-06-01
  9. "Fun, short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Web Designer 

    I worked at Cibo

    Pros

    - great (collaborative & close-knit) office space - solid relationship with clients - speakers and workshops were great

    Cons

    - needed more time to build relationships with others outside of my project

    Cibo2016-02-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Boutique agency still trying to grow up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office location near Walton Square park in FiDi and cool post-industrial office vibe Smart and talented Creative team who are fun to work with when working together on a project

    Cons

    Massive employee turnover at all levels, it's been a constant revolving door with people coming and going Terrible at client relationshps and retention, many clients have come and gone Poor business development, long stretches between bigger client projects; clients seem to chose Cibo on price, not great work Typical small agency chaotic and disorganized project delivery processes Questionable executive... management team creating a poor company culture relying on employee intimidation at times (who obviouslly wrote some of these glowing company reviews) CEO has a well known reputation as egotistical and controlling

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can't become a great agency if you can't get great clients and deliver great work. Mange your clients and their expectations, they certainly don't match what you sold them. Treat your employees with genuine respect and check your egos at the door, they may decide to hang around longer if you do. Decide what kind of agency you want to be.

    Cibo2014-12-08
  11. Helpful (9)

    "Creative Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cibo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you don't have to work under Alder - the group of designers is fun to work with.

    Cons

    Alder Yarrow, Cibo’s Chief Experience Officer, is the worse person you’ll ever work for. Not only is his work and knowledge of User Experience (UX) mediocre but he also has the tendency to put down his team members in front of others and never give them any credit. Lack of leadership and constant turnover in his group is disturbing. UX talent is in demand and there are so many great agencies to work for – no need... to work with Cibo as long as Alder is there.

    Show More
    Cibo2014-09-16
Found 17 reviews
</>Embed