Ciena Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Ciena President, CEO, and Director Gary B. Smith
Gary B. Smith
518 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be disrupted at times(in 27 reviews)

  • "At the moment there are no Cons that I can think of(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, respect, helps employees innovate, employees and managers work together towards common goals, there are opportunities for learning. This company goes out of its way to help employees be productive and stay healthy.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours are needed but we can take time off in lieu of overtime.

    Ciena2020-04-12

    Ciena Response

    April 12, 2020Ciena

    Hey there! Thank you for your feedback. We are incredibly proud to know how strongly you feel about Ciena's culture, values and benefits and we are privileged to have you support the teams you've been supporting day in & day out for over a decade now- Thank you! We have more great things to come in future as we keep getting better and build ourselves stronger at being' A Great Place to Work Company' Trust you're keeping yourself and your family safe and well in these hard times and believing that We are in this together!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Onboarding and first week!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Specialist in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well organized and very professional way of working with an external hire and onboarding. Manager and HR were very good with communicating periodically and keeping employee well informed.

    Cons

    Can't think of any....only minor thing was that the work laptop arrived later than expected but delay was on fedex side due to weather conditions, so none in reality!

    Continue reading
    Ciena2019-12-20

    Ciena Response

    January 22, 2020Ciena

    Thank you so much for your review. We hope you have a wonderful experience starting your career at Ciena!

  3. "Ciena"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Hanover, MD

    I have been working at Ciena full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work from home policy

    Cons

    Separation of work life from home life

    Ciena2020-05-03

    Ciena Response

    May 15, 2020Ciena

    Thanks for posting - we are appreciative of all feedback. As we make our way through this new normal , please don't forget to take time for yourself and your family. Be safe and be well.

  4. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ciena full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Good work culture.

    Cons

    Average pay. Not so good RSUs. Can't seem to attract good talent. Some good middle level managers and quite a few not so good.

    Continue reading
    Ciena2020-04-29

    Ciena Response

    May 15, 2020Ciena

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experiences with us at Ciena. Although you had positive experiences we like to also acknowledge the Cons as well. We take each and every review seriously and are committed to providing our employees with a fantastic workplace and your feedback will help make this possible. Please feel free to contact us further at cienafeedback@ciena.com .

  5. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Ciena full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Workload, and the ability to work from home

    Cons

    No cons the company is great

    Ciena2020-03-24

    Ciena Response

    April 14, 2020Ciena

    Thanks for taking the time to share your prestigious opinion about Ciena . We take pride in giving outstanding benefits to our employees and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Hanover, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ciena full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people work there. Excellent benefits

    Cons

    Company has been letting go tenured staff recently in certain departments. It's reducing moral

    Ciena2020-03-03

    Ciena Response

    April 14, 2020Ciena

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience working at Ciena. We understand the difficulties with restructuring and would like to hear about your experiences. Please keep in touch. cienafeedback@ciena.com

  7. "Ciena has a great engineering culture"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ciena full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The office provides a collaborative environment.

    Cons

    None that I'd care to share.

    Ciena2020-01-24

    Ciena Response

    January 28, 2020Ciena

    Thanks for writing a review. We love our collaborative culture and you will see this at all Ciena's across the globe! Thank you for contributing.

  8. "OK to work for them"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Ciena full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OK to work for them

    Cons

    not much to say about ciena

    Ciena2020-01-27

    Ciena Response

    January 28, 2020Ciena

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. We would like to encourage everyone to make their Ciena career a fulfilling one. Better conversations with your manager can introduce new and exciting challenges within your team.

  9. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ciena full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, great pay, unlimited PTO

    Cons

    They need a new supply leader

    Continue reading
    Ciena2019-12-19

    Ciena Response

    January 28, 2020Ciena

    Absolutely, we do have a competitive compensation package including our flexible working hours and uncapped paid time off. Overall, Ciena is a fantastic place to work!

  10. "Stable and consistent company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ciena full-time

    Pros

    Great for a long term stable career. Lots of opportunities for lateral movement. Very good benefits

    Cons

    No career growth Culturally inflexible Slow to change

    Continue reading
    Ciena2019-12-22
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 823 Reviews