Cover image for Ciena
Logo

Ciena

Engaged Employer

Ciena

Add a Review

Ciena Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,656 of over 2K reviews
4.4
89% Recommend to a Friend
Ciena President, CEO, and Director Gary B. Smith
97% Approve of CEO

Found 1,609 of over 2K reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Ciena President, CEO, and Director Gary B. Smith
Gary B. Smith
1,031 Ratings

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Work Life Balance is good(in 198 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and pension contribution.(in 124 reviews)
  • "Great people then and now.(in 120 reviews)
  • "Great culture with commitment to excellence(in 59 reviews)
  • "Good salaries (I was here on placement and amazed at my salary).(in 51 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management no proper utilization of company resources(in 45 reviews)
  • "Many of the managers have not been trained and do poor to fair jobs managing effectively(in 27 reviews)
  • "Frequent Layoffs(in 19 reviews)
  • "Recent merger with Cyan(now Blueplanet)expose you to cutting edge technologies but there is no training plan for employees, you are on your own.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Yes working in medium to large sized companies there is a disconnect sometimes between senior management and junior staff, that is well understood.(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ciena and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Compensation

    Mar 23, 2023 - Lead Engineer in Orange, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary is very good and competitive.

    Cons

    Role growth opportunities are limited

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Place to Work!

    Mar 23, 2023 - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The number one thing that Ciena brings to the work environment is treating its people and customers with respect. It is the most ethical company I've ever been involved with which really makes for a wonderful place to get things done.

    Cons

    Like all big companies there are lots of steps needed to get things moving forward. At times being focused on making the best decision rather than just making a decision slows progress.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Ciena team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    Mar 23, 2023 - Software Engineer II in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working environment is really good

    Cons

    Some Times Work life balance can be really bad

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great culture

    Mar 21, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love Ciena!! Great culture, very supportive, team oriented.

    Cons

    Could really use some business process reengineering in back office. Can’t seem to get out of their own way sometimes despite valiant efforts.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Thank you for the feedback. It's great to read what you have to say. We always strive to do better. If you'd like to share more, please contact us at cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to work

    Mar 20, 2023 - NOC Operator in Buenos Aires
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engaging. Rewarding Collaborative Flexible Supportive

    Cons

    No payment in USD mprove hybrid work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Thank you for this positive feedback. It's great to read what you have to say. We always strive to do better and are on our way to making our competitive rewards package even better. If you'd like to share more, please contact us at cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing Culture

    Mar 20, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Work-life balance 2. Good colleague 3. Good componesation

    Cons

    Sometimes, it can be not easy to manage because teams can be spread worldwide.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously working on ensuring individuals like you have an even better working environment, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and taken to our leadership team. If you want to continue this conversation and help us find even more ways to do better, please send an email to cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Mar 18, 2023 - Embedded Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with

    Cons

    Work can become mundane overtime

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Thank you for this feedback. It's great to hear what you have to say. We always strive to do better. If you'd like to share more, please contact us at cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    good company to learn but not to earn

    Mar 15, 2023 - Network Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    a good place to learn, many training webinar/seminars, very responsive HR,

    Cons

    unfairly low payment. Little merit each year

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to read what you have to say. We always strive to do better and are on our way to making our competitive rewards package and management training even better. We are continuously working on ensuring individuals like you have an even better working environment so your feedback is greatly appreciated and taken to our leadership team. If you want to continue this conversation and help us find even more ways to do better, please send an email to cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good working env

    Mar 15, 2023 - Software Engineer in Kanata, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working env. Great leadership

    Cons

    PTO Is flexible. feels guilty when apply longtime off.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Ciena! We are extremely proud of our flexible working and overall working environment. We are continuously working on ensuring individuals like you have a great work-life balance, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and taken to our leadership team. If you want to continue this conversation and help us find even more ways to do better, please send an email to cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good work life balanace

    Mar 15, 2023 - Senior Program Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance and very minimal micro managment.

    Cons

    slow paced on majority of the projects

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review - it's great to read your comments. If you want to continue this conversation and help us find even more ways to do better, please send an email to cienafeedback@ciena.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,609 Reviews
</>Embed

Ciena Reviews FAQs

Ciena has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 1,850 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Ciena to a friend and 88% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Ciena employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Ciena. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

89% of Ciena employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ciena 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Ciena to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be management, career development.

Popular Careers with Ciena Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ciena? Share Your Experiences

Ciena logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Ciena Photos

+ Add Photo
Ciena photo of: Testimonials from our students!
Ciena photo of: We celebrated International Women's Day
Ciena photo of: Congrats to our optical team, who took home an award last week at #MEF19 for our next-gen WaveLogic 5 coherent optical technology that's capable of pushing 800G of capacity over a single wavelength.
Ciena photo of: Ciena Proud!
Ciena photo of: Voluntary Blood Donors from Gurgaon, India Team on Nov 19, 2019 #110unitsofblood
Ciena photo of: Voluntary Blood Donors from Gurgaon, India Team on Nov 19, 2019 #110unitsofblood
Ciena photo of: Voluntary Blood Donors from Gurgaon, India Team on Nov 19, 2019 #110unitsofblood
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Packet Design, Inc.Blue PlanetDonRiver Inc.
Centina Systems

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ciena Job Seekers Also Viewed

Infinera Logo
Infinera

4.1

804 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,850 Ciena reviews submitted anonymously by Ciena employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ciena is right for you.